Some orders may be delayed by the current Coronavirus lockdown.
Visit our help page for further information.
The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3): An Irish crime thriller of danger, death and justice (Paperback)
  • The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3): An Irish crime thriller of danger, death and justice (Paperback)
zoom

The Silent Dead (Paula Maguire 3): An Irish crime thriller of danger, death and justice (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 10/03/2016
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

Some say they deserve their fate. But isn't everyone entitled to justice?

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is in a race against time to solve a deadly crime in THE SILENT DEAD, the third novel in Claire McGowan's terrific, hard-hitting crime series. The perfect read for fans of Val McDermid and Elly Griffiths.

'Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying' - Peter James

Victim: Male. Mid-thirties. 5'7".
Cause of death: Hanging. Initial impression - murder.
ID: Mickey Doyle. Suspected terrorist and member of the Mayday Five.

The officers at the crime scene know exactly who the victim is. Doyle was one of five suspected bombers who caused the deaths of sixteen people.

The remaining four are also missing and when a second body is found, decapitated, it's clear they are being killed by the same methods their victims suffered.

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire is assigned the case but she is up against the clock - both personally and professionally.

With moral boundaries blurred between victim and perpetrator, will Paula be able to find those responsible? After all, even killers deserve justice...

What readers are saying about The Silent Dead:

'Great atmosphere - it's tense and chilling. I simply did not want to put this book down. Superb fast-paced plot and wonderful storytelling'

'A gripping story covering grief and frustration as it explores the moral dilemma of people failed by the system to may just be taking justice into their own hands. A great read'

'Absorbing story that constantly holds your attention. Steady, tense layering, building up to the nerve-wrecking end'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472204424
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 282 g
Dimensions: 197 x 169 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Another clear-eyed analysis of violence and how it affects all who are touched by it . . . like the first two Maguire novels, terrific * Metro *
I read The Silent Dead with my heart in my mouth . . . brilliant -- Erin Kelly
In Dr Paula Maguire, [McGowan] has created a wonderfully complex character * Irish Independent *
A breathlessly exciting and intelligent thriller with a brooding atmosphere * Sunday Mirror *
I was gripped by The Silent Dead and was fully immersed in the world created by Claire McGowan's fine storytelling -- www.forwinternights.wordpress.com
Deliciously satisfying -- www.louisereviews.com
Hard-hitting crime writing at its best * Fabulous *
Gripping . . . I very much look forward to McGowan's next one -- www.thewelshlibrarian.blogspot.com
McGowan kept me guessing until the very end -- www.booksandboardies.com
A gripping police procedural which takes us into the heart of a damaged, resilient nation -- www.promotingcrime.blogspot.co.uk
Page-turning * Guardian *
Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell -- Ken Bruen
A knockout new talent -- Lee Child
Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying -- Peter James
Compelling and flawless -- Sharon Bolton
A knockout new talent -- Lee Child
Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell -- Ken Bruen
Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying -- Peter James
A compelling and flawless thriller -- SJ Bolton
Page-turning * Guardian *

You may also be interested in...

All That's Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
One Good Deed
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The King's Evil
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Perfect Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
No One Home
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
You'll Never See Me Again
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Elevator Pitch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Silent Death
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Chain
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.