The Silence (Hardback)
  • The Silence (Hardback)
zoom

The Silence (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 06/08/2020
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

A missing woman

30 years ago, in the suffocating heat of a Sydney summer, the Greens' next-door neighbour Mandy disappeared without a trace.

A cold case re-opened

In 1997, in a basement flat in Hackney, Isla Green is awakened by a call in the middle of the night: her father is under suspicion of Mandy's murder.

A devastating secret

How well does Isla know her father? Is he capable of doing something terrible? And is there another secret in their community - a conspiracy of silence which stretches deep into Australia's past?

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008361303
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 550 g
Dimensions: 227 x 159 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Emotionally wrenching' - Wall Street Journal

'A suspenseful, beautifully crafted debut for fans of Celeste Ng and Jane Harper' - Telegraph Australia

'Intricate and suspenseful... [a] stellar debut' - New York Journal of Books

'A riveting mystery, beautifully unwound. The Silence excavates dark, decades-old secrets buried in human hearts, in families and in nations. I read it in one weekend' -Erin Kelly

'A darkly gripping and addictive read. I tore through it in a few days' - Esther Freud

'Deeply engrossing ... an exquisite literary thriller' - Philippa East, author of Little White Lies

'An impressive and beautifully written, Australian-set debut with the devastating subject of the Stolen Generation at its core' - Fiona Mitchell, author of The Swap

'Tense, atmospheric and brilliantly paced. The Silence is fraught with disturbing secrets and powerful emotions. I loved it' - Francesca Jakobi, author of Bitter

'A suspense-filled story set in Australia, highlighting the effects of an official policy that has haunted generations. Allott's prose builds an incredibly convincing portrayal of the destruction caused by dysfunctional relationships. A fantastic debut' - Nikki Smith, author of All in Her Head

'A poignant literary mystery, impossible to put down. One of those books that stops you rushing to your next read for fear it won't compare.' - Trevor Wood, author of The Man on the Street

'A brooding, suspenseful debut' - Sunday Mirror

'Allott uses the scandal of Australia's stolen children to devastating effect in this memorable debut.' - Sunday Times

'An atmospheric, convincing portrayal of the way that the decisions we make, both individually and collectively, reverberate down the years.' - Guardian

'A compelling account of loyalty, familial trust and distrust.' - Lancashire Times

You may also be interested in...

A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Therapist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Judas Horse
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
I Follow You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Imperfection perfectly captured.”

"A dozen Hail Marys and a biscuit," is the penance her granny hands out to a 4 year old Isla after she breaks her silence and confesses her darkest secret. Should the adult characters ever confess their... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 7
KimG9

“Excellently absorbing novel to pass the time in lockdown”

I am an unmitigated fool for a novel set in Australia as these novels have populated my favorites list with high frequency for the last couple of years. The Silence was no exception. Focusing on some of the darker... More

Hardback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 7

“The Silence by Susan Allott”

I hugely enjoyed The Silence. It’s one of those rare novels that is both gripping and ethically important. The narrative perspective is brilliant – to show the forced removal of the children through the eyes of the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.