The Silence Project (Hardback)
  • The Silence Project (Hardback)
zoom

The Silence Project (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 400 Pages
Published: 09/02/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The gripping story of what it's like to be the daughter of a woman who changed the world - perfect for fans of The Power and Vox

A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK AND KINDLE NO. 1 BESTSELLER

'Engrossing and original. The Silence Project will get people talking' Bernardine Evaristo

Mother. Martyr. Murderer.

On Emilia Morris's thirteenth birthday, her mother Rachel moves into a tent at the bottom of their garden. From that day on, she never says another word.

Inspired by Rachel's example, other women join her and together they build the Community. Eight years later, Rachel and thousands of her followers shock the world as they silence themselves forever.

In the aftermath of what comes to be known as the Event, the Community's global influence quickly grows. As a result, the whole world has an opinion about Rachel - whether they see her as a callous monster or a heroic martyr - but Emilia has never voiced hers publicly. Until now.

Readers can't stop shouting about The Silence Project:
'A true masterpiece' *****
'One hell of a book!' *****
'Had me hooked' *****
'Red-hot' *****
'I don't think I've ever read a book as quickly' *****
'Gave me the shivers' *****

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781838956066
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 581 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 25 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

An utterly compelling page-turner, you'll keep thinking about this novel long after you've put it down. - Glamour

A page-turner - Scotland on Sunday

Carole Hailey has conjured a gripping tale of transformation; its protagonist's clear-eyed, arresting voice is impossible to ignore. This striking debut grounds itself in a world we recognize in order to invite us to imagine both darkness - and hope. The Silence Project marks the arrival of a sophisticated and compelling new voice. - Erica Wagner

Totally unique, gripping, compelling and immersive - Nell Hudson, author of Just For Today

'Multilayered and philosophical ... grippingly compulsive ... reminiscent of writers such as Margaret Atwood, Naomi Alderman and Miriam Toews ... inventive and original - Nation Cymru

A slow burn that leads up to an incendiary conclusion. It holds a mirror up to our cultural compulsion to have a take on every tragedy that passes our screens, and the way that movements can spiral out of control. But it's also a deep dive into the divide between a mother and a daughter, and the struggle to understand who your parents are outside their identity as your parents. - Readers Digest

Compulsive reading ... so timely in its considerations of the ownership of narrative and truth - Jane Fraser, author of Advent

A big novel, a story for our age that asks the central question: how to save an endangered world when there can no longer be heroes? Love and power burn through The Silence Project. A terrifying and beautiful coming of age story. What an achievement! - Isabelle Dupuy author of Living the Dream

Readers who enjoyed The Power or The Handmaid's Tale will be absorbed by the novel's exploration of dystopian themese - The School Librarian

A gripping, intelligent, multi-layered triumph - Andy Charman, author of Crow Court

A ferociously smart page turner, exploring how idealism curdles into fanaticism, silence into violence. Brilliantly original and inventive. - Alan Bilton, author of The Known and Unknown Sea

Arresting ... pins down the zeigeist as if with a rivet gun and is so good on the subject of cults that it might well become the focus one. Bravo. - Jon Gower

Captivating ... a nimble and fascinating page-turner - Buzz

A remarkable novel ... illustrates the evil that lies in the heart of men's (and women's) hearts when they decide their way is the only way - Meath Chronicle

You may also be interested in...

Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Antarctica
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback

“Listen more, speak less - a dystopian view of getting your message across”

Wow, really powerful story and a compelling read.
Emilia’s mum (Rachel) goes to live at the bottom of their garden on her 13th birthday. At this point Rachel stops speaking. She writes that people need to listen... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“A perfect book club read”

Dystopian and feminist? Sign me right up.

This is a fascinating novel that reads like a biography as Emilia is recounting the story of her mother and the rise in her cult like following. Emilia is 13 when her mother... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 5
Vivienne O'Regan

“Intriguing fictional memoir”

“It has been eleven years since my mother’s death, but the questions never stop. Everyone remains just as fascinated by her as they have always been and believes this gives them the right to ask me anything. What was... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: