The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6 - Thora Gudmundsdottir (Paperback)
  • The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6 - Thora Gudmundsdottir (Paperback)
zoom

The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6 - Thora Gudmundsdottir (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 26/03/2015
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

WINNER OF THE 2015 PETRONA AWARD

The most chilling novel yet from the Queen of Nordic Noir, not to be missed for fans of Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.

'Mummy dead.' The child's pure treble was uncomfortably clear. It was the last thing Brynjar - and doubtless the others - wanted to hear at that moment. 'Daddy dead.' It got worse. 'Adda dead. Bygga dead.' The child sighed and clutched her grandmother's leg. 'All dead.'

A luxury yacht arrives in Reykjavik harbour with nobody on board. What has happened to the crew, and to the family who were on board when it left Lisbon?

Thora Gudmundsdottir is hired by the young father's parents to investigate, and is soon drawn deeper into the mystery. What should she make of the rumours saying that the vessel was cursed, especially given that when she boards the yacht she thinks she sees one of the missing twins? Where is Karitas, the glamorous young wife of the yacht's former owner? And whose is the body that has washed up further along the shore?

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444734485
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A corker of a locked-room mystery, with one of the most dramatic twists in recent crime fiction. * The Sunday Times *
Iceland's answer to Stieg Larsson. * Daily Telegraph *
Yrsa is one of the most exciting new voices in the crime thriller world. -- Peter James
A gripping thriller with enough mystery and horror to keep you sitting on the edge of your seat while you try to work out what happened. -- Peter Robinson

You may also be interested in...

Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
A Christmas Railway Mystery
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
@Gav_The_Bantam

“I loved it and urge you all to visit Sigurðardóttir’s Iceland”

A fab read, intelligently written and well paced. A cracker.

A luxury yacht sets sail from Lisbon with three crew members and a family of four on board. It is not seen or heard from again until it crashes into... More

Paperback edition
15th December 2015
Helpful? Upvote 47

“A gripping read!”

Make sure that you can stay in most, if not the whole day in order to read this book! Once started, it is impossible to put it down.
At a first glance you might think this is the usual locked room mystery - how wrong!... More

Paperback edition
23rd February 2015
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Rather strange book”

This was a review copy from a magazine.
Never heard of the author before, the blurb looked great. Claimed to be Iceland's answer to Stieg Larsson. Although I don't think it is.
Story line was gripping,... More

Paperback edition
25th April 2014
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.