Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6 - Thora Gudmundsdottir (Paperback)
  • The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6 - Thora Gudmundsdottir (Paperback)
zoom

The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6 - Thora Gudmundsdottir (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£13.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 27/02/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

WINNER OF THE 2015 PETRONA AWARD

The most chilling novel yet from the Queen of Nordic Noir, not to be missed for fans of Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.

'Mummy dead.' The child's pure treble was uncomfortably clear. It was the last thing Brynjar - and doubtless the others - wanted to hear at that moment. 'Daddy dead.' It got worse. 'Adda dead. Bygga dead.' The child sighed and clutched her grandmother's leg. 'All dead.'

A luxury yacht arrives in Reykjavik harbour with nobody on board. What has happened to the crew, and to the family who were on board when it left Lisbon?

Thora Gudmundsdottir is hired by the young father's parents to investigate, and is soon drawn deeper into the mystery. What should she make of the rumours saying that the vessel was cursed, especially given that when she boards the yacht she thinks she sees one of the missing twins? Where is Karitas, the glamorous young wife of the yacht's former owner? And whose is the body that has washed up further along the shore?

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444734461
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 566 g
Dimensions: 233 x 154 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A corker of a locked-room mystery, with one of the most dramatic twists in recent crime fiction. * The Sunday Times *
Iceland's answer to Stieg Larsson. * Daily Telegraph *
Yrsa is one of the most exciting new voices in the crime thriller world. -- Peter James
A gripping thriller with enough mystery and horror to keep you sitting on the edge of your seat while you try to work out what happened. -- Peter Robinson

You may also be interested in...

Panic Room
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye
Added to basket
No Time to Cry
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
17th Suspect
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Christmas Railway Mystery
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
@Gav_The_Bantam

“I loved it and urge you all to visit Sigurðardóttir’s Iceland”

A fab read, intelligently written and well paced. A cracker.

A luxury yacht sets sail from Lisbon with three crew members and a family of four on board. It is not seen or heard from again until it crashes into... More

Paperback edition
15th December 2015
Helpful? Upvote 48

“A gripping read!”

Make sure that you can stay in most, if not the whole day in order to read this book! Once started, it is impossible to put it down.
At a first glance you might think this is the usual locked room mystery - how wrong!... More

Paperback edition
23rd February 2015
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Rather strange book”

This was a review copy from a magazine.
Never heard of the author before, the blurb looked great. Claimed to be Iceland's answer to Stieg Larsson. Although I don't think it is.
Story line was gripping,... More

Paperback edition
25th April 2014
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.