The Silence Factory (Hardback)
  • The Silence Factory (Hardback)
zoom

The Silence Factory (Hardback)

(author)
? RRP £18.99
£16.99
Save £2.00 (11%)
Hardback 384 Pages
Published: 09/05/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

From the bestselling author of The Binding and The Betrayals comes a breathtaking tale of a man whose search for silence leads him into a world on the edge of time and magic.

Special collector’s edition with designed foil board and endpapers, limited to the first print run.

Henry dreams of silence.

A world without the clattering of carriages through cobbled streets, the distant cries of drunken brawls, the relentless ticking of the clock.

Then he meets a fascinating, mysterious gentleman who sells just that. Precious silk that can drown out the clamour of the world – and everything Henry is so desperate to escape.

Summoned to Sir Edward’s secluded factory to try to cure his young daughter’s deafness, Henry is soon drawn deeper and deeper into the origins of this otherworldly gift: a gift that has travelled from ancient Mediterranean glades to English libraries.

Ignoring repeated warnings from the girl's secretive governess, he allows himself to fall under the spell of Sir Edward and his silk… but when he learns its true cost, will it be too late to turn back?

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008424046
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 600 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Extraordinary writing… silk, secrets and silence woven into a gleaming Gothic web. What a treat' ANNA MAZZOLA 'I loved it. A delicately woven novel with an utterly original premise, it ensnared me from the very first page' EMILIA HART 'I loved Bridget Collins' last two novels so much I was almost nervous to read this one in case it didn't live up to my feverish expectations. I was wrong: in The Silence Factory she has created another world that exists on the edge of time and magic. Epic in scope and rich at sentence level, this is storytelling at its most immersive' ERIN KELLY 'A gorgeous, gothic read perfect for fans of Jessie Burton' i PAPER 'Weaving historical accuracy with speculative fiction, this is a gloriously grim Gothic tale, where heightened emotion and a menacing atmosphere add a breathless sense of drama' DAILY MAIL 'Another cracking five-star novel by Bridget Collins' LOUISE MORRISH ‘A wonderfully beguiling Gothic mystery’ HEAT 'Breathtaking… A riveting narrative filled with suspense, intrigue, and poignant reflections' GLAMOUR 'A truly spellbinding, unnerving read’ WOMAN'S WEEKLY '[A] gripping, gothic tale' WOMAN'S OWN 'Brilliantly conceived and complex' THE BOOKSELLER AMAZING READER REVIEWS ‘Wholly original and unexpected… you are in the hands of a storytelling master' ‘I was immediately caught up in the intense, gothic atmosphere with its mystical touches and haunting ambiance' ‘Dark, compelling, fantastical and absorbing, Bridget Collins has done it again' ‘A splendid work of imagination, almost magical in places, but darkly realistic in others, and a great read' 'It's as if [Collins] possesses a siren's song, luring us deeper into the story with each turn of phrase'

An evening of gothic historical fiction with Bridget Collins, Emilia Hart and Hester Musson at Waterstones Piccadilly

An evening of gothic historical fiction with Bridget Collins, Emilia Hart and Hester Musson at Waterstones Piccadilly

London - Piccadilly
Tuesday 18th June 18:30

We are delighted to be joined by authors Bridget Collins, Emilia Hart and Hester Musson for a dark Historical panel discussing their novels The Silence Factory, Weyward and The Beholders.

View

You may also be interested in...

The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In Memoriam
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Fraud
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
The House of Doors
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Wandering Souls
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Command
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Wait for Me
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Whalebone Theatre
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Wolves of Winter
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Alchemy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Another breathtaking and unforgettable novel from Bridget Collins!”

In The Silence Factory, the writing is so rich and evocative, every sentence is crafted so wonderfully to create such vivid and beautiful storytelling. With themes of desire, obsession, nature and ownership, the plot... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Darkly Gothic Mystery”

I really enjoyed The Binding by Bridget Collins but I think this was even better as I was more more inclined to like Henry Latimer than some of her previous characters.
The story is told through two time lines. The... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“A poetic journey into ownership, longing, and grief”

Bridget Collins has a way with words that makes you want to savour every single sentence, and this was no exception. Her words are crafted with such care and precision, that I was left desparate for more. This is a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: