The Sheltering: A Novel - Story River Books (Hardback)
  • The Sheltering: A Novel - Story River Books (Hardback)
zoom

The Sheltering: A Novel - Story River Books (Hardback)

(author), (foreword)
£26.95
Hardback 296 Pages / Published: 30/08/2014
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
'You set yourself up as judge, jury, and executioner,' Pamela had said, but that was wrong: you set yourself up as angel, and await the word of God."

Luther Redding lost his job, and almost lost his wife, Pamela, and teenaged daughters Katie and Lucy, when the real estate bubble burst in Florida. Now he pilots a Reaper drone over the mountains of Afghanistan from a command center in the bowels of Tampa's MacDill Air Force Base, studying a target's pattern of life and awaiting the command to end that life. Meanwhile Bobby Rosen has returned home from his tours in Iraq to a broken marriage and an estranged son, his promising military career cut short in a moment of terrible violence in a Sadr City marketplace. As the tales of Luther and Bobby unfold, Mark Powell masterfully engages with the vexing, bifurcated lives of combatants in the global war on terror, those who are simultaneously here and there and thus never fully freed from the life-and-death chaos of the battlefield.

As Bobby sets off on a drug-fueled road trip with his brother Donny, newly released from prison and consumed by his own inescapable impulses, a sudden death in the Redding household sends Luther's daughter Katie spiraling into grief and self-destruction. Soon the lives of the Reddings and the Rosens intersect as the collateral damage from the war on terror sends these families into a rapid descent of violence and moral ambiguity that seems hauntingly familiar to Bobby while placing Katie in a position much like her father's - more removed witness than active participant in the bloody war unfolding in front of her. Overarching questions of faith and redemption clash with the rough-hewn realities of terror and loss, all to explosive ends in Powell's dark vision of modern Americana.

Novelist Ron Rash has deemed Powell "the best Appalachian novelist of his generation." In this, his fourth novel, Powell broadens the southern backdrop of his earlier work into a sprawling thriller taking readers from the Middle East to Charleston, southern Georgia, Tampa, Miami, New Orleans, and into the storied American West. In its themes, perspectives, and pacing, The Sheltering recalls the work of Robert Stone, Jim Harrison, and Ben Fountain while further establishing Powell as a unique voice capable of interrogating unfathomable truths with a beauty and cohesion of language that challenges our assumptions of the human spirit.

Publisher: University of South Carolina Press
ISBN: 9781611174342
Number of pages: 296
Weight: 476 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Everything's going to hell in the literary village these days except this one true thing--our novelists, these past few years, have delivered us into a Golden Age of American writing, and
Mark Powell's unforgettable The Sheltering is further evidence of this redemptive phenomenon in the post-9/11 world. The Sheltering is the work of a story-teller at the height of his power."--Bob Shacochis, author of The Woman Who Lost Her Soul
"The Sheltering signifies a new era for the tradition where the South, with all its baggage, has merged with the whole of America. Set primarily in central Florida, "The Sheltering" is a literary thriller in the vein of Jim Harrison or Robert Stone. Two alternating storylines tell a complex story of war, violence and the possibility of spiritual regeneration."--Richmond (Va.) Times Dispatch

"The Sheltering is Powell's best novel to date. The subtleties he imbues into his characters make for an engaging read that, once you start, is hard to stop. The smoothness of prose proves that Powell knows what he is doing. There is no doubt about it, Powell has established himself as a voice not only of Appalachia, but of all contemporary American literature."--Southern Literary Review

The Sheltering signifies a new era for the tradition where the South, with all its baggage, has merged with the whole of America. Set primarily in central Florida, The Sheltering is a literary thriller in the vein of Jim Harrison or Robert Stone. Two alternating storylines tell a complex story of war, violence and the possibility of spiritual regeneration. Richmond (Va.) Times Dispatch
"
The Sheltering is Powell s best novel to date. The subtleties he imbues into his characters make for an engaging read that, once you start, is hard to stop. The smoothness of prose proves that Powell knows what he is doing. There is no doubt about it, Powell has established himself as a voice not only of Appalachia, but of all contemporary American literature. Southern Literary Review
"
Everything s going to hell in the literary village these days except this one true thing our novelists, these past few years, have delivered us into a Golden Age of American writing, and
Mark Powell s unforgettable The Sheltering is further evidence of this redemptive phenomenon in the post 9/11 world. The Sheltering is the work of a story-teller at the height of his power. Bob Shacochis, author of The Woman Who Lost Her Soul"

You may also be interested in...

A Long Long Way
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Birdsong
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lonely Skier
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
For Whom The Bell Tolls
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Eye in the Door
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Regeneration
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A High Wind In Jamaica
Added to basket
Sharpe's Tiger
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Darker Domain
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Quite Ugly One Morning
Added to basket
Every Dead Thing
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lonesome Dove
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Our Man In Havana
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
All Quiet on the Western Front
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.