The Shadows of Rutherford House (Paperback)
  • The Shadows of Rutherford House (Paperback)
zoom

The Shadows of Rutherford House (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 10/11/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Layers of secrets are gradually peeled back in this brilliantly absorbing tale.' Marion Todd, author of Old Bones Lie

Darkness lies at the heart of this family…

In 1959 Milly starts her new life as a housemaid at Rutherford House, working for the aristocratic Rutherford-Percy clan. Entranced by her new mistress, Vivienne, she becomes deeply embroiled in the household and the keeper of dark secrets the family conceals beneath the mansion’s grand exterior.

In the present day, Christie is working as a psychiatric nurse when she meets troubled patient Lillian Percy, Vivienne’s granddaughter and heiress to Rutherford House. They soon bond over the loss of their mothers – Lillian’s died when she was a child; Christie’s mysteriously disappeared over twenty years ago – and Christie finds herself increasingly fascinated by Lillian’s family and their imposing ancestral home.

As Christie learns more about the Rutherford-Percys, she finds a shocking clue that could help her uncover what happened to her own mother. Desperate for answers, Christie puts her job, her family and even her very life on the line. But how much of the truth does she really want to know?

A twisty, chilling and unputdownable page-turner about family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Louise Douglas and Harriet Evans.

Praise for The Shadows of Rutherford House:

‘An absorbing tale of dark family secrets…It holds the reader in suspense with an intricately woven plot’ Heather Burnside, author of Guilt

‘An absolutely riveting multi-generational drama with gasp-out-loud twists I never saw coming!’ J.M. Hewitt, author of The Life She Wants

‘A gripping gothic thriller with a compelling cast of characters’ Stephanie Sowden, author of After Everything You Did

'The secrets and twists of this intriguing tale kept me turning the pages well into the night.' Amanda Brittany, author of I’m Watching You

‘I flew through this book, which hits the spot perfectly for the colder, darker nights. A moody Yorkshire mystery in which I pictured a lot of the men as modern day Heathcliffs and Rutherford House as a twentieth-century Wuthering Heights, I couldn’t put it down.’ Caroline Corcoran, author of What Happened on Floor 34?

'Atmospheric, with a cast of creepy characters' Stephen Edger, author of The Prodigal Mother

‘This book was so deliciously creepy! I devoured it in one sitting! It had me hooked from the first page.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

'My jaw literally dropped at the ultimate twist!...Honestly, one of the best books I’ve read this year.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

'I was absolutely dumbfounded by the ending that wasso freakin' satisfying and jaw-dropping!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

'The twist at the end had me stunned' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

'One of the best books I’ve read recently!...would highly recommend to anyone that enjoys mysteries and thrillers!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader Review

'If you want a story that has more twists and turns than a roller coaster, this is it.' Reader Review

'I absolutely loved this book and could not put it down. A gothic thriller with so many great twists' Reader Review

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781804361832
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Antarctica
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Black Bird Oracle
Added to basket
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
kendrafortune

“Enjoyable but at times quite confusing”

There were a lot of characters in this book, and it jumped around through three different decades, which made it an interesting and multilayered story, but it also made it at times quite difficult to keep track of who... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Secrets and lies through the generations”

I was already intrigued by The Shadows of Rutherford House but when I learned it was set around South Yorkshire I decided I definitely had to read it.

Rutherford House is the seat of the Percy family, now quite... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A solid gothic tale”

I have read many examples of this author’s work including her alter-ego, Caroline England. This is the first one that has required a pen & paper to keep track of the characters & timelines - this isn’t a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: