The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy - Licanius Trilogy (Paperback)
  • The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy - Licanius Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy - Licanius Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 736 Pages / Published: 11/05/2017
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian

AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS


It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers.

As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.

The Licanius trilogy:
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come
The Light of All That Falls


'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net

'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction

'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356507774
Number of pages: 736
Weight: 500 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 50 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire -- GUARDIAN
So exciting . . . Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding -- FANTASY FACTION
A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new . . . You'll be left wanting more -- SFX

Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence . . . This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak

-- SCIFINOW
A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding -- DAILY MAIL
Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters -- BOINGBOING
Incessant plot twists and a relentless pace -- KIRKUS
Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series -- BARNES & NOBLE SF BLOG
Complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters . . . Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Magic, monsters, prophecies, betrayals and revenge . . . The first novel by James Islington has it all -- THE ELOQUENT PAGE
Definitely a series to watch out for. It has everything you wish in Epic fantasy and a lot more -- THE BOOK PLANK
An action-packed nailbiter -- BOOKBAG
Relentless pace and exciting plot . . . absorbing and impressive -- CULTUREFLY

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
£17.99   £15.99
Hardback
Alice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Dragon Ball Super, Vol. 1
Added to basket
The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3)
Added to basket

“Great first Book”

This was a very enjoyable read, for his first book it was great introduction into a new world of characters and magic. I'm looking forward to reading his next book.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

“Good introduction to this new series”

3.5 Solid introduction to this new world and characters, but it definitely wasn't perfect. The world is an interesting one and the world building is generally quite good, although I wanted a little more details... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

“Not quite living up to the hype”

An interesting new world to be introduced to. I feel we get very much thrown straight into it here, and while I'm not against that in a fantasy novel I'd almost like a little more time to get my feet... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.