The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy - Licanius Trilogy (Paperback)
  • The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy - Licanius Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

The Shadow of What Was Lost: Book One of the Licanius Trilogy - Licanius Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 736 Pages / Published: 11/05/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian

AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS

It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers.

As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.

The Licanius trilogy:
The Shadow of What Was Lost
An Echo of Things to Come
The Light of All That Falls (coming 2019)

'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net

'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction

'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356507774
Number of pages: 736
Weight: 495 g
Dimensions: 130 x 200 x 49 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire -- GUARDIAN
So exciting . . . Will appeal not only to The Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding -- FANTASY FACTION
A traditional coming-of-age, saving-the-world epic fantasy in the vein of Tad Williams, Raymond E. Feist (and yes, Robert Jordan). But it also has the flavour of something new . . . You'll be left wanting more -- SFX

Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence . . . This is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak

-- SCIFINOW
A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding -- DAILY MAIL
Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters -- BOINGBOING
Incessant plot twists and a relentless pace -- KIRKUS
Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series -- BARNES & NOBLE SF BLOG
Complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters . . . Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Magic, monsters, prophecies, betrayals and revenge . . . The first novel by James Islington has it all -- THE ELOQUENT PAGE
Definitely a series to watch out for. It has everything you wish in Epic fantasy and a lot more -- THE BOOK PLANK
An action-packed nailbiter -- BOOKBAG
Relentless pace and exciting plot . . . absorbing and impressive -- CULTUREFLY

You may also be interested in...

The Magicians' Guild
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Grey Bastards
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Fifth Season
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Obelisk Gate
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Successor's Promise
Added to basket
The Waking Fire
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Storm Front
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Secret History of Witches
Added to basket
Thief's Magic
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dragon Reborn
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Black Prism
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £6.99
Paperback
Angel of Storms
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
The Dwarves
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Great first Book”

This was a very enjoyable read, for his first book it was great introduction into a new world of characters and magic. I'm looking forward to reading his next book.

Hardback edition
12th December 2016
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Good introduction to this new series”

3.5 Solid introduction to this new world and characters, but it definitely wasn't perfect. The world is an interesting one and the world building is generally quite good, although I wanted a little more details... More

Paperback edition
30th January 2018
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.