• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Seventh Son: A Unique Portrait of Richard III (Paperback)
  • The Seventh Son: A Unique Portrait of Richard III (Paperback)
zoom

The Seventh Son: A Unique Portrait of Richard III (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 28/02/2013
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

A superb historical novel about Richard III, the notorious hunchback king whose burial site was recently uncovered, which will appeal to fans of Josephine Tey's THE DAUGHTER OF TIME, Philippa Gregory's THE KINGMAKER'S DAUGHTER, and readers of Hilary Mantel.

At the heart of this stunning novel is the complex human being known to history as Richard III, a king whose reign is darkened by the murder of the young Princes in the Tower, but who also found a touching love with the woman he married, and possessed immense courage. As goes the old adage 'history is written by the victors', so Richard III's own story was corrupted by the spokesman of the Tudor regime, William Shakespeare. And yet here is a man who inspired loyalty and hatred in almost equal measure, until at last the implacable enmity of one woman brought about his downfall.

In this classic novel, the paradox of England's most enigmatic king is vividly brought to life. It is a family drama in the grand tradition, a tale of brother against brother, cousin against cousin, of love, hate and intrigue, of women inescapably entangled in the fates of their men, and of a mystery that has exercised people's minds for more than five hundred years.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472207920
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 302 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The book cries out to be made into a TV serial, every bit as compelling as ELIZABETH R or the version of Robert Graves's CLAUDIUS books * The Scotsman *
A hugely enjoyable read * Glasgow Herald *
Tannahill's Richard is complicated, ruthless, sometimes troubled, but no plaster saint * The Scotsman *
Enthralling...a highly satisfying story * Pocklington Post *

Praise for Reay Tannahill:

'A rattling good yarn' The Times

'A sweeping grandeur touched novel with superb characterisations' Publishers Weekly

'There's romance, humour and, above all, a display of brilliant storytelling' Woman

* Various *

You may also be interested in...

Demelza
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wars of the Roses: Trinity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Other Queen
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.