The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr (Paperback)
  • The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr (Paperback)
zoom

The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 12/07/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Wonderful' - Rosie Walsh, author of The Man Who Didn't Call.

Funny, heart-warming and ultimately triumphant, The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr by Frances Maynard is a story for anyone who doesn't quite fit in - and for everyone who chooses not to. Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Elvira Carr is twenty-seven, neuro-atypical, and has never lived alone. But her father - who she suspects was in the secret service - is dead, and when her mother has a stroke and is taken into care, Elvira suddenly finds herself home alone. In order to cope, Elvira - who knows a lot about biscuits and supermarkets, but not much about life - develops Seven Rules for interacting with others. Not even her rules can help her, however, when she's faced with solving a mystery she didn't know existed . . .

'Big-hearted and charming' - James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509842131
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 262 g
Dimensions: 197 x 131 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Absolutely fantastic -- Rosie Walsh, author of The Man Who Didn't Call
Funny and heart-warming, Elvira is our new hero * The Sun, Fabulous magazine *
Big-hearted and charming . . . Elvira manages to conjure up the one thing we could all do with: a cheat sheet for the painful puzzle of everyday life -- James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me
Charming . . . Ellie will make readers smile and occasionally want to take her under a protective arm -- Booklist
'A heartwarming coming-of-age story. Perfect for book clubs and for readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project' * Library Journal *
A novel which will stick in your mind long after reading, stalking your thoughts as you go about everyday life . . . When I finished the book, I couldn't help but wish there was a sequel . . . Marvellous -- Ronnie Turner, blogger
Funny and heartwarming * My Weekly *
Memorable and touching . . . The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr is an important novel and a great read, with elements of mystery, discovering friendship, and working out how to be independent in the world * Siobhan Dunlop, blogger at FiendfullyReading *
Sometimes characters come along in books that are so utterly exquisite you feel blessed to have experienced them and indebted to their author for having gifted to them. Such is the case with Elvira Carr . . . A tale that is full of joy, empathy, honesty and warmth -- Jade Craddock, nudge-book.com
Fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Rosie Project will love this endearing book . . . Heartwarming with a mystery at its centre . . . Elvira's character is written with such genuine affection that you can't help but root for her * bookriot.com *

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Both of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sanatorium
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Thing He Told Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Snow
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Leaves a Warm Fuzzy Feeling Inside”

It was hard to get into, but by the end of this book I loved Ellie. Her honesty and innocence, and the trouble they get her into, made her such an endearing character. I had to read this as it was selected by my book... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17
Ann Noddles at Durham

“Elvira, as sweet as the biscuits she loves.”

Elvira is somewhere on the autism spectrum, she takes people at face value, is frequently baffled by figures of speech, oh and she has a passion for biscuits, from the packaging, to the history and the taste. With the... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 17

“Heartwarming ”

A really well written and compassionate story about a 27 year old woman who has a Condition, Elvira Carr is neuro- atypical and lives a very sheltered life with a somewhat overbearing mother. However everything... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.