The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr (Paperback)
  • The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr (Paperback)
zoom

The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 12/07/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Wonderful' Rosie Walsh

Funny, heart-warming and ultimately triumphant, The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr by Frances Maynard is the perfect story for anyone who doesn't quite fit in - and for everyone who chooses not to.

Elvira Carr is twenty-seven, neuro-atypical, and has never lived alone. But her father - who she suspects was in the secret service - is dead, and when her mother has a stroke and is taken into care, Elvira suddenly finds herself home alone. In order to cope, Elvira - who knows a lot about biscuits and supermarkets, but not much about life - develops Seven Rules for interacting with others. Not even her rules can help her, however, when she's faced with solving a mystery she didn't know existed . . .

'Big-hearted and charming' James Hannah

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509842131
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 290 g
Dimensions: 197 x 131 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Absolutely fantastic -- Rosie Walsh, author of The Man Who Didn't Call
Funny and heart-warming, Elvira is our new hero * The Sun, Fabulous magazine *
Big-hearted and charming . . . Elvira manages to conjure up the one thing we could all do with: a cheat sheet for the painful puzzle of everyday life -- James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me
Charming . . . Ellie will make readers smile and occasionally want to take her under a protective arm -- Booklist
'A heartwarming coming-of-age story. Perfect for book clubs and for readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project' * Library Journal *
A novel which will stick in your mind long after reading, stalking your thoughts as you go about everyday life . . . When I finished the book, I couldn't help but wish there was a sequel . . . Marvellous -- Ronnie Turner, blogger
Funny and heartwarming * My Weekly *
Memorable and touching . . . The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr is an important novel and a great read, with elements of mystery, discovering friendship, and working out how to be independent in the world * Siobhan Dunlop, blogger at FiendfullyReading *
Sometimes characters come along in books that are so utterly exquisite you feel blessed to have experienced them and indebted to their author for having gifted to them. Such is the case with Elvira Carr . . . A tale that is full of joy, empathy, honesty and warmth -- Jade Craddock, nudge-book.com
Fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Rosie Project will love this endearing book . . . Heartwarming with a mystery at its centre . . . Elvira's character is written with such genuine affection that you can't help but root for her * bookriot.com *

You may also be interested in...

The Couple Next Door
Added to basket
Do Not Disturb
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Damaged
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Good Daughter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wild Fire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The People vs. Alex Cross
Added to basket
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sleeping in the Ground
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
NYPD Red 5
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Ann Noddles at Durham

“Elvira, as sweet as the biscuits she loves.”

Elvira is somewhere on the autism spectrum, she takes people at face value, is frequently baffled by figures of speech, oh and she has a passion for biscuits, from the packaging, to the history and the taste. With the... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
11th July 2017
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Heartwarming ”

A really well written and compassionate story about a 27 year old woman who has a Condition, Elvira Carr is neuro- atypical and lives a very sheltered life with a somewhat overbearing mother. However everything... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
21st August 2017
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Face Value”

I was taken aback by how much I genuinely enjoyed this book and how many layers I could see within it. Told from the perspective of the eponymous Elvira Carr it gives a touching and beautifully wrought insight in to... More

Paperback edition
12th July 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.