The Second World War: A Military History (Hardback)
  • The Second World War: A Military History (Hardback)

The Second World War: A Military History (Hardback)

1 Review Write your review
Hardback Published: 01/09/2010
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

This is a landmark reassessment of the Second World War, of its origins and prosecution. It looks set to become the definitive single-volume military history. In this major new history, Gordon Corrigan argues that what we call the Second World War was in fact two separate conflicts: one against Germany (and, for a while, Italy) in Western Europe, Soviet Russia and North Africa; the other against Japan in the Far East and Pacific. Each conflict had distinct causes and had to be fought in different ways against very different enemies, who rarely, if ever, coordinated their efforts. This is a new and cogent account of an immense, exhausting six-year conflict that continues to fascinate. Corrigan examines the agendas of the warring nations and offers fresh and vivid interpretations; Britain's own part in the war comes in for particularly close scrutiny: militarily, the British suffered an agonising series of defeats before the tide turned. The country emerged economically broken, with the loss of her empire a virtual certainty. "The Second World War" is vast in its erudition and epic in its execution. It will change forever the way we think about the titanic conflicts that dominated the years 1939 to 1945. It is suitable for fans of Gordon Corrigan's "Mud, Blood and Poppycock" and "Blood, Sweat and Arrogance", and Andrew Roberts' "The Storm of War", as well as Anthony Beevor, Max Hastings, and Richard Holmes.

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781843548942

You may also be interested in...

“Brilliant read”

Candid and clear narrative, as objective as is possible and tongue in cheek

Paperback edition
27th July 2015
Helpful? Upvote 1

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?

Review us on Trustpilot