Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Second String Quartet in F-Sharp Minor: Opus 10 (Paperback)
  • The Second String Quartet in F-Sharp Minor: Opus 10 (Paperback)

The Second String Quartet in F-Sharp Minor: Opus 10 (Paperback)

(author), (editor)
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 31/10/2005
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
For nearly a century, it has inspired composers, scholars, critics, performers, and visual artists. Severine Neff re-creates for her readers the quartet's historical, cultural, and musical background-its introduction of the human voice, its genesis during a personal crisis in the composer's life, the scandal at its premiere, and its endlessly controversial reception, both critical and analytic. This volume includes a newly edited, authoritative score of the quartet, as well as previously unavailable and newly translated texts by Grant Chorley.

"Indispensable for understanding one of the central compositions of the twentieth century."-Walter Frisch, Columbia University.

Publisher: WW Norton & Co
ISBN: 9780393978025
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 211 x 157 x 18 mm

You may also be interested in...

Added to basket
Beyond the Notes
Added to basket


Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.