• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Second Sister: The Exciting New Psychological Thriller from Sunday Times Bestselling Author Claire Kendal (Paperback)
  • The Second Sister: The Exciting New Psychological Thriller from Sunday Times Bestselling Author Claire Kendal (Paperback)
zoom

The Second Sister: The Exciting New Psychological Thriller from Sunday Times Bestselling Author Claire Kendal (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 04/05/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The chilling new psychological thriller from the author of the top ten bestseller, THE BOOK OF YOU, which was selected for Richard and Judy in 2015. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and DISCLAIMER.

It is ten years since Ella's sister Miranda disappeared without trace, leaving her young baby behind. Chilling new evidence links Miranda to the horrifying Jason Thorne, now in prison for murdering several women. Is it possible that Miranda knew him?

At thirty, Miranda's age when she vanished, Ella looks uncannily like the sister she idolized. What holds Ella together is her love for her sister's child and her work as a self-defence expert helping victims.

Haunted by the possibility that Thorne took Miranda, and driven by her nephew's longing to know about his mother, Ella will do whatever it takes to uncover the truth - no matter how dangerous...

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007531714
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 320 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

`Emotional and sensitive, populated with wonderfully real characters, but also underscored by menace which races towards a heart-in-the-mouth denouement.' Gillian McAllister, author of EVERYTHING BUT THE TRUTH

`THE SECOND SISTER is both a twisty thriller and a sensitively written story of a family stricken by loss and the fear of not knowing the worst. The strife between the remaining sister and her mother especially is depicted with heart-rending warmth and insight.' Isabelle Grey, author of THE BAD MOTHER

`Marvelously tension-filled storytelling' New York Times

`A thriller with intelligence and a high creep factor, a genre that's difficult to get just right...Claire Kendal's version comes close to perfection' The Toronto Star

PRAISE FOR THE BOOK OF YOU:

`Any thriller that has you checking over your shoulder and peeking from behind your curtains must be gripping so hats off to Claire Kendal's hard-hitting debut THE BOOK OF YOU for doing just this' Stylist

`Both brutal and unbearably tense, THE BOOK OF YOU announces the arrival of a fierce new talent, a writer not afraid to grasp a woman's fears in stark detail and to invoke nightmares' Daily Mail

`Clever, claustrophobic and chillingly good' Good Housekeeping

`THE BOOK OF YOU starts with breathtaking brilliance and then just gets better with every page. Already my book of the year' Elizabeth Haynes, author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER

`Gripping with some very smart twists' Woman Magazine

`A gripping read!' Closer

`Addictive ... I literally hardly breathed as I raced to the end. It's a terrifying thriller' Samantha Hayes, author of UNTIL YOU'RE MINE

`Creepy and compelling. What happens when the wrong guy won't take no for an answer?' Paula Daly, author of JUST WHAT KIND OF MOTHER ARE YOU?

You may also be interested in...

The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hanged Man
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Love Like Blood
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Fallen
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Burial Hour
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
He Said/She Said
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Thirst
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.00
Hardback
Tell Tale
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Camino Island
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Insidious Intent
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Persons Unknown
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Lying Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Munich
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Invisible Guardian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Intriguing and hard to put down”

The Second Sister may contain a number of implausible plot points but that doesn't take away from my enjoyment of it. I found this book gripping, tense and curiously fascinating.

When Ella, the younger sister to... More

Paperback edition
7 similar books recommended
21st May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 27

“A good second novel”

Ten years ago, Ella's older sister Miranda went missing, but as the anniversary of her disappearance comes around, new information begins coming to light that means Ella might have the chance to find out what... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
13th May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Slow to get going ”

I found the plot very slow to get going and I nearly gave up ,but I persevered as I wanted to find out what happened to the missing Miranda.I didn't find the characters altogether believable .Ella's constant... More

Paperback edition
30th April 2017
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.