Find your perfect holiday reading
The Sea Warriors: Fighting Captains and Frigate Warfare in the Age of Nelson (Paperback)
  • The Sea Warriors: Fighting Captains and Frigate Warfare in the Age of Nelson (Paperback)
zoom

The Sea Warriors: Fighting Captains and Frigate Warfare in the Age of Nelson (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 30/08/2002
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
The Sea Warriors chronicles the real-life adventures of the great sea captains who spent long, arduous years on the world's oceans, fighting for king and country, to win and rule the waves. The struggles of the Royal Navy's finest commanders encompass the Napoleonic Wars and the War of 1812, as well as fights against pirates and battles with the sea itself. Author Richard Woodman, best known for his Nathaniel Drinkwater series of historical novels, recounts in exciting detail the deeds of the captains and mates who manned the opposing frigateswho blockaded ports, who intercepted the enemy's trade, who protected merchant ships from enemy attacks and piracy. Extraordinary characters stride across these pagesmen like Lord Cochrane, Charles Brisbane, and Nisbet Willoughbynaval heroes who for nearly two centuries have stood in the shadow cast by the famous British admiral Horatio Nelson. Some, like Warren, Pellew, Cochrane, and Collingwood, still have some measure of renown, while others are almost unknown today despite their brave and brilliant exploits. " ...marvelous ...shows where Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester got all their stuff ...more exciting to read than either. "John Bayley, "Best Books of the Year,"Times Literary Supplement "A superb Napoleonic War study, admirably written. It puts Patrick O'Brian and Hornblower in the shade. "Daily Telegraph "For fans of Patrick O'Brian or C. S. Forester who crave true stories of high adventure in Nelson's navy. "Kirkus Reviews

Publisher: Avalon Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780786710799
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 349 g
Dimensions: 197 x 127 x 26 mm

You may also be interested in...

1421
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Railway Man
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Mongol Empire
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tamerlane
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Japan
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Nemesis
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Great Game
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Samurai
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Chickenhawk
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
History of Japan
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Genghis Khan
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Korean War
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Bending Adversity
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Dispatches
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
India in the Persianate Age
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.