The Scientists: A Family Romance (Hardback)
  • The Scientists: A Family Romance (Hardback)
zoom

The Scientists: A Family Romance (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 208 Pages / Published: 17/01/2013
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
'Marco Roth's book about his father is a farewell to a bygone culture - polygot, intellectual, Europhile, psychoanalytic - and simultaneously a renewal of that culture. It's moving, tough-minded, and distinctive, a memoir the likes of which nobody else could write.' Benjamin Kunkel, author of Indecision With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician - from the time he could get his toddler tongue to pronounce a word like 'deoxyribonucleic acid' or recite a French poem - Marco Roth was able to share his parents' New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father began to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s. What this family would not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it's a story of how preciousness can slow us down when it comes to understanding our desires and other people's. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams and J. R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled and emotional inheritance, in a style that is both elegiac and defiant.

Publisher: Union Books
ISBN: 9781908526199
Number of pages: 208
Dimensions: 216 x 138 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

Just Ignore Him
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Agent Sonya
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Making It
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time
Added to basket
Rememberings
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Brief Answers to the Big Questions
Added to basket
The Crew
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret Barrister
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
My Garden World
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Power Of Hope
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
An Extra Pair of Hands
Added to basket
Motherwell
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Becoming
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Fake Law
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Anarchy
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.