The Sacrifice Box (Paperback)
  • The Sacrifice Box (Paperback)
zoom

The Sacrifice Box (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 11/01/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

An atmospheric, chilling page turner from rising star Martin Stewart, reminiscent of Stand by Me and Netflix's hit drama, Stranger Things.

Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley: five friends thrown together one hot, sultry summer.

When they discover an ancient stone box hidden in the forest, they decide to each make a sacrifice: something special to them, committed to the box for ever. And they make a pact: they will never return to the box at night; they'll never visit it alone; and they'll never take back their offerings.

Four years later, a series of strange and terrifying events take place. Someone broke the rules, and now everyone has to pay.

But how much are they willing to sacrifice?

After working variously as a recycling technician, university lecturer, golf caddy and English teacher, Martin Stewart turned to his passion for storytelling and began writing novels. Born in Glasgow, where he now lives, his first novel, Riverkeep, was longlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141371610
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 277 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An atmospheric coming-of-age story with brilliantly executed elements of horror and comic relief * Publishers Weekly *
Stewart is a master at weaving vivid and visceral images in the minds of his readers and this book has no shortage of truly terrifying moments that will stay with you long after you have finished it. Definitely one to read with the lights on and far away from any childhood toys * Scotsman *
From the delightfully strange imagination of Scottish writer Martin Stewart comes a creepy and engrossing horror story * Buzzfeed *
This creepy thriller is one for fans of Stephen King and Stranger Things * MTV *
The comparisons to Stranger Things are apt and well deserved. This is one of the most original and unique books I've ever read -- Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones
An expertly written horror laced through with joyful comedy, Martin Stewart's follow-up to the award winning Riverkeep is a suspenseful and gruesome tale of friendship, family and faith - perfect for fans of Stranger Things or Stephen King * Scottish Booktrust *
Moody and atmospheric, with sardonic humor; a meaty slice of horror * Kirkus Reviews *
Stewart is masterful. He weaves a chilling, supernatural plot with a playfulness and brings the darkest chapters back from the edge. I suspect Stephen King would be impressed * Bookality *
This eldritch escapade is certainly an option for kids too old to go trick-or-treating * Wall Street Journal *

You may also be interested in...

Isles of Storm and Sorrow: Viper
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Eve of Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nought Forever
Added to basket
£1.00
Paperback
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Holes
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Always and Forever, Lara Jean
Added to basket

“Not perfect but worth a read!”

I was sent a copy of The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart to read and review by NetGalley.
Overall I enjoyed this novel, it had some interesting ideas regarding relationships between friends, about loyalty and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 34
Stephen B at Darlington

“Five in Dorset for Strange Happenings”

I have had this moving up my TBR pile over the last month or so, but it was immediately catapulted to the top on the advice of a fellow twitter user and I really didn't regret pushing it up the list.

I usually... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17
snailycanflyy

“"Always goodness and light win out"*”

*I'm assuming that this quote from the book, that I liked, is accurate and that everything worked out okay in the end. Because I didn't finish reading this book.

It's very rare that I DNF a book...but... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.