The Ruin - The Cormac Reilly Series (Paperback)
  • The Ruin - The Cormac Reilly Series (Paperback)
zoom

The Ruin - The Cormac Reilly Series (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 06/09/2018
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'As moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID

Shortlisted for the Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year
Shortlisted for the RTE Listeners' Choice Award
Shortlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker Prize 2018

'Spectacularly good' MARIAN KEYES
'A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters' LAURA MARSHALL

*****

February 1993
On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

March 2013
Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

Dervla McTiernan's powerful debut The Ruin draws us into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Tana French and Susie Steiner.

*****

Praise for THE RUIN:

'Brilliantly crafted . . . incredibly real-feeling characters. An absolute treat!' SUNDAY MIRROR

'An exciting new voice in Irish noir' SUNDAY TIMES

'Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy ... as moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID

'Loved THE RUIN by Dervla McTiernan. A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters I really cared about' LAURA MARSHALL,

'Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot' IRISH EXAMINER

'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping' CAZ FREAR

'THE RUIN is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre' CHRIS BROOKMYRE

'Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden' KAREN DIONNE

There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me! ALEX GRAY

'Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story' SAM BLAKE

'Intelligent, compassionate and believable' SINEAD CROWLEY

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751569315
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 274 g
Dimensions: 201 x 127 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A very fine novel . . . excellently written and, at times, heartcatchingly sad -- Marian Keyes
Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy ... as moving as it is fast-paced -- Val McDermid
Bravo! The Ruin is a terrific read! -- Liz Nugent
I tore through The Ruin, desperate to unravel the mystery that Dervla so cleverly lays out. Heartbreaking and heart-stopping in equal measure, it's an incredibly well-crafted, complex tale and yet remarkably easy to read, such is the subtle brilliance of the plotting . . . Dervla maintains the suspense all the way through, yet never at the expense of plausibility. She's sure to become one of my go-to authors! -- Caz Frear
Instantly hauling the reader into its permanently charged atmosphere, The Ruin is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex, and heralds the arrival of Dervla McTiernan as a future star of the genre -- Chris Brookmyre
There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me! -- Alex Gray
Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden -- Karen Dionne
Loved every page. Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story. Serious contender for Irish Crime Novel of the Year -- Sam Blake
Intelligent, compassionate and believable -- Sinead Crowley
Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot * Irish Examiner *
An absorbing tale * Irish Times *
I can't wait to read the next one . . . a star crime writer is born! * Books Ireland *
A crime writer of promise * RTE Guide *
An exciting new voice in Irish noir * Sunday Times (Crime Club) *
Brilliantly crafted . . . incredibly real-feeling characters. An absolute treat! * Sunday Mirror *

You may also be interested in...

Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Christmas is Murder
Added to basket
A Silent Death
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Twelve Days of Winter
Added to basket
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Fifty-Fifty
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Great read”

If you enjoy police procedural novels, you should read this.
If you enjoy a good mystery, you should read this.
If you enjoy a book with likeable, believable characters....you guessed it! Read this book!!

Paperback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Secrets and Lies”

Dervla McTiernan’s first novel is an accomplished police procedural set in the west of Ireland town of Galway. It is an atmospheric and moving piece of writing with an assured plot and a range of well-drawn... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Crime fiction at its best”

I requested this book because I saw it was recommended by Val McDermid, so I wasn't surprised to find it a well-plotted, multi-layered read with well-rounded characters. I very much like the character of DI... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.