Some orders may be delayed by the current Coronavirus lockdown.
Visit our help page for further information.
The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up? (Paperback)
  • The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up? (Paperback)
zoom

The Royal Nonesuch: Or, What Will I Do When I Grow Up? (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 08/03/2007
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Glasgow Phillips published his debut novel Tuscaloosa at the tender age of twenty-four. The results were disastrous: encouraging reviews, translations, a paperback sale, a film option, and a Stegner Fellowship at Stanford. But over the next two years, as Phillips's second novel unraveled and freelance journalism assignments ended in humiliation, a horrible, secret thought took hold in him: perhaps, just possibly, whatever talent he had was of the kind that would never be more than promise.
Washed up as a "real" writer before he was thirty, Phillips went to Los Angeles and formed a company with his best childhood friend Jason McHugh, independent producer of Cannibal! The Musical and Orgazmo. The Royal Nonesuch is the story of Phillips's rollercoaster ride through the twisted world of underground Hollywood and the funhouse of the Internet during the boom. Phillips builds a hilarious and poignant memoir, in the tradition of Augusten Burroughs and Sean Wilsey, from tales of promise and failure, family and madness, friendship and redemption, fame and infamy, and good old-fashioned hustling. It is a remarkable book; a brilliant portrait of a generation in all its foolish glory.

Publisher: Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press
ISBN: 9780802170286
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 454 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Glasgow Phillips has harnessed vast observational and comedic talents for the purpose of waste, waste, and thrice waste--till now! The Royal Nonesuch is both a self-reckoning and a generational one, and Phillips fills this ridiculous, entertaining, crazy-ass morality tale with proof that he's a fancy pants literary type after all. Hooray!" -- Sean Wilsey
"Hollywood drops the soap and Glasgow Phillips scores a bull's-eye in this hilarious and frighteningly accurate memoir about coming-of-age on the gamy side of Tinseltown." -- Mark Haskell
"The Royal Nonesuch hits so close to home that laughing at Mr. Phillips and laughing at yourself are often one and the same. Occasionally gut-wrenching, often hysterical, and always illuminating, Mr. Phillips's prose remains remarkably assured throughout. Even when his life choices are, well, not." -- Neel Shah
"The Royal Nonesuch is very funny, far too real for comfort, and even, finally, life-affirming. To borrow a phrase from Mr. Phillips, reading this book is like getting kicked in the clams with a clown shoe. You double over, not sure whether you're laughing or crying, and then you want to kick the clown back, in the clams. That course of action won't be available to all readers, but I have Mr. Phillips's address, and I'm on my way now to the clown she store." -- Dave Eggers
"This is the best book I've read about being in your twenties and trying to figure out what to do with your life, and that's not just because I'm in it. Something this funny shouldn't also be this profound; after laughing, crying, and cheering the cast, all I wanted was a bigger part." -- Matt Stone
"This is the book you're looking for. It's inspiring, intelligent, funny, honest, and a triumph over evil. I usually can't get past page 10 in a memoir, but The Royal Nonesuch had me from the start and never let me down. Glasgow Phillips is the real deal, a badass who actually knows how to write." -- Arthur Bradford

You may also be interested in...

The Making of Poetry
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Square Haunting
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me
Added to basket
Down in the Valley
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Cost of Living
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beyond the Thirty-Nine Steps
Added to basket
Parallel Lives
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Walden
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Jane Austen at Home
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Shakespeare
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Year of Magical Thinking
Added to basket
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
On Writing
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
I Feel Bad About My Neck
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.