Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Room by the Lake (Hardback)
  • The Room by the Lake (Hardback)
zoom

The Room by the Lake (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 10/08/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

A brilliantly atmospheric psychological suspence novel for readers of Emma Cline's The Girls and The Roanoke Girls.

All she wanted was somewhere to belong.

Caitlin never meant to stay so long. But it's strange how this place warps time. Out here, in the middle of nowhere, it's easy to forget about the world outside.

It all happened so fast. She was lonely, broke, about to give up. Then she met Jake and he took her to his 'family': a close-knit community living by the lake. Each day she says she'll leave but each night she's back around their campfire. Staring into the flames. Reciting in chorus that she is nothing without them.

But something inside her won't let go. A whisper that knows this isn't right. Knows there is danger lurking in that quiet room down by the lake...

Reviews for The Room by the Lake:
'A beautiful book ... I was immediately sucked into the writing' NUDGE BOOK.
'A brilliant psychological drama' ALWAYS TRUST IN BOOKS.
'A fascinating, intense psychological suspense novel [...] that really gets under your skin and haunts your thoughts' RATHER TOO FOND OF BOOKS.
'Fast-paced and full of tension' GO BUY THE BOOK.
'Sinister and haunting. A warning about how far people will go when they are lost and lonely. I highly recommend it' BOOKS OF ALL KINDS.

Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781786694027
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 228 x 145 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'The cult-themed mystery The Room By the Lake, is first on my holiday reading list' Guy Lodge, Observer Summer Picks 2017.
'A brilliant psychological drama' Always Trust in Books.
'A convincing picture of a damaged, traumatised individual' What Cathy Read Next.
'Daughter of the late, great Michael Dibdin takes her literary talents in a different direction, with a debut slow-burning thriller' The Sunday Times Crime Club.
'A slow burn with a lot of psychological insight ... A solid read' Novel Gossip.
'The writing is fresh, and as the book opens, there is a real crackle and energy to it' TripFiction.
'A fascinating, intense psychological suspense novel that I highly recommend. It's one of those books that really gets under your skin and haunts your thoughts' Rather Too Fond of Books.
'Fast-paced, easy read filled with tension. A great debut' Go Buy the Book.
'A smart and thought-provoking mystery' Once Upon a Page.
'Emma Dibdin hooked me from the beginning with her own style and flare, and I didn't come up for air until I had turned the last page ... A sinister, haunting, and warning tale ... I highly recommend it' Books of All Kinds.
'A spectacular thriller. A haunting read. A huge, gigantic 5/5' Book Addict Rambles.
'An intelligently written, shocking and sinister thriller ... A compulsively readable spine-chiller and a cautionary tale rolled into one and readers who like their thrillers rich in tension, intrigue and suspense should add Emma Dibdin to their must-buy list' Bookish Jottings.
'It's compelling writing and a warning to anyone looking for an easy fix' Crime Review.
'A beautiful book, both inside and out - the hardback has gorgeous endpapers which perfectly reflect the setting of the story. I was immediately sucked into the writing, which is easy to read. With a languid pace, we are drip fed clues as to the origin of the group Caitlin becomes involved with and it is easy for the reader to sense that something is amiss' Nudge Book.

You may also be interested in...

The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Now We Are Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
A Legacy of Spies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Munich
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Reckoning
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Our House
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“This story weaves the inner turmoil of a girls troubled mind.”

I received a beautiful hardback copy of this book from the publisher which added to my intrigue as I embarked on the journey. It starts when a young girl travels to New York, well as I have made abundantly transparent... More

Hardback edition
23rd August 2017
Helpful? Upvote 2
TripFiction

“Novel set in Upstate NEW YORK... cult living”

3.75*

Caitlin has fled to New York from London, following the death of her Mother who had mental health issues, and from her father, who has been sliding into alcohol excess. She needed to escape. Thus she hopped on... More

Hardback edition
14th August 2017
Helpful? Upvote 1
What Cathy Read Next

“Unsettling, dark, psychological thriller”

Following the death of her mother after years of acute mental illness and feeling betrayed by her father’s relapse into alcohol dependency, Caitlin escapes to New York, leaving no trace behind of her intended... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
8th August 2017
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.