The Roanoke Girls (Paperback)
  • The Roanoke Girls (Paperback)
zoom

The Roanoke Girls (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 10/08/2017
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A Richard & Judy Bookclub pick 2017

The Roanoke Girls is a provocative, compulsive thriller about the twisted secrets families keep, perfect for fans of Into the Water and The Girls.

Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die.

The girls of the Roanoke family - beautiful, rich, mysterious - seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them that's never spoken.

Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast.

Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?

'Fans of The Girls will love this' – Red

'A must-have' – Sunday Express

'Remarkably assured' – The Sunday Times

'A provocative thriller' – The Telegraph

'Darkly sexy' - Heat

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781473648401
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 204 g
Dimensions: 199 x 153 x 19 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A must-have * Sunday Express *
Fans of The Girls will love this sweat-soaked, sultry, small town tale full of shadows and lurking dread. * Red Online *
A provocative thriller * Telegraph *
'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it. A (vastly superior) Flowers in the Attic for a new generation' -- Sarah Hilary (author of Someone Else's Skin )
A debt to Daphne du Maurier is evident throughout this remarkably assured adult debut * The Sunday Times *
Packed with suspense and danger...this is a book that stays with you * The Lady *
Twisted, controversial...SO compelling and beautifully written -- Claire Douglas, Sunday Times bestselling author of Local Girl, Missing
Beautifully written and utterly captivating...and so so dark. I loved it! -- Katerina Diamond, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Teacher
'One of the best books I've read in a long time...Gripping, twisty, dark - what a page turner. One not to miss!' -- Rebecca Done (author of This Secret We're Keeping )
'I was immediately drawn into The Roanoke Girls, a haunting and riveting look at one family's tangled legacy. You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secrets' -- Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Blood
'Dark and intense... with a compelling twist which will remain with you long after the book's last sentence' -- L.S. Hilton, author of Maestra
'An emotionally compelling page turner, The Roanoke Girls takes you inside the dark world of a twisted family' -- Wendy Walker, author of All Is Not Forgotten
'Utterly utterly gripping; at the end I was destroyed' -- Liz Loves Books
'Atmospheric. Claustrophobic. Creepy...elicit[s] a slow sense of dread' -- Book by Book
'Creepy, twisted, compelling, The Roanoke Girls crawls under your skin and stays there' -- Harriet Reuter Hapgood, author of The Square Root of Summer

You may also be interested in...

The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Confession
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Fantastic”

The Roanoke Girls is a twisty dark and sad story that will leave you very emotional. This story follows Allegra and Lane two beautiful girls that have everything, the money, the looks, the house, the good life, the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 159

“Dark, compelling and completely addictive!”

A pretty covered book that has a dark tale to tell within its pages. It entices you in, whispering its secrets to you. You want to look away but you just can't help yourself, you have to hear about the Roanoke... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 68
Nicole @WstonesHemel

“Made Me Squirm”

toCrikey what a lot goes on at Roanoke!

Lane has grown up, but the events of one summer spent after her mother died at the old family house, her loving Gran and Grandfather taking her in although estranged from her... More

Hardback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 62

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.