Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Revelations of Carey Ravine (Paperback)
  • The Revelations of Carey Ravine (Paperback)
zoom

The Revelations of Carey Ravine (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 09/03/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn.

London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for sale - including entree into the ruling class.

Making their way in this buccaneering society are Carey Ravine, a spirited young woman of enigmatic background, and her husband, the charming, endlessly enterprising Oliver Nash. Carey and Nash share a historic connection to India and a desperate ambition to better themselves. But as Nash's plans draw them into a restless association of gamblers and secret societies, Carey begins to question what's really hidden behind the seedy glamour of their lives. Her unease grows with the appearance of a mysterious man whose appearance unearths a troubling secret from the past. Carey finds herself forced to investigate the truth behind the stranger's claims-- - and to confront her own illusions about herself.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781782069966
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 241 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I marvelled at this novel. Gripping, assured and powerfully atmospheric; you know at once you are in the hands of a master storyteller * Rowan Pelling, on Turning the Stones *
A glorious, intricate period romance: a perfect mix of Georgian high society blended with wild Irish magic. Em is a feisty heroine and the denoument is as perfect as it is unexpected * Manda Scott, on Turning the Stones *
Gripping, tautly plotted and hauntingly beautiful: Debra Daley is a writer to watch * Vanora Bennett, on Turning the Stones *
An enjoyable melodrama involving a stolen child, boorish brutes intent on ravishing the heroine, a woman with a gift of second sight and a rakish smuggler * Sunday Times on Turning the Stones *
[A] tightly plotted, fun novel * Times *

You may also be interested in...

Dead at First Sight
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
My Lovely Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Reckoning
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sentence is Death
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Redemption
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Order of the Day
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Noble Path
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Institute
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Guardians
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.