Some orders may be delayed by the current Coronavirus lockdown.
Visit our help page for further information.
The Return: The creepy debut novel for fans of Stephen King, CJ Tudor and Alma Katsu (Hardback)
  • The Return: The creepy debut novel for fans of Stephen King, CJ Tudor and Alma Katsu (Hardback)
zoom

The Return: The creepy debut novel for fans of Stephen King, CJ Tudor and Alma Katsu (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 10/09/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

Her best friend disappeared. A stranger came back.

SEX AND THE CITY MEETS STEPHEN KING'S THE SHINING IN THIS CHILLING DEBUT

Julie is missing, and no one believes she will ever return-except Elise. Elise knows Julie better than anyone. She feels it in her bones that her best friend is out there and that one day Julie will come back.

She's right. Two years to the day that Julie went missing, she reappears with no memory of where she's been or what happened to her.

Along with Molly and Mae, their two close friends from college, the women decide to reunite at a remote inn. But the second Elise sees Julie, she knows something is wrong-she's emaciated, with sallow skin and odd appetites. And as the weekend unfurls, it becomes impossible to deny that the Julie who vanished two years ago is not the same Julie who came back. But then who-or what-is she?

An eerie storm of a debut that fuses thriller and horror into a brilliant depiction of women's friendships - the rivalries, jealousies, anxieties and love.


Praise for THE RETURN

'The Return expertly treads the fine line between thriller and horror. It's as deliciously creepy as opening up a box of candy-coated spiders-and eating them all in one sitting'
Christina Dalcher, bestselling author of Vox

'Combining suspense and horror with razor-sharp insights into the nature of female friendships, Rachel Harrison's The Return is a creepy, nerve-wracking, page-turning addition to the emerging field of horror thrillers'
Alma Katsu, award-winning author of The Hunger

'The Return is moving and terrifying in equal measure. A brilliant rumination on friendship, pain, and the myriad of unsuccessful ways we all try to run from our past and fill the holes in our hearts. Harrison's keen prose won't let you go. Be warned, you'll double check the locks on your doors before you try to sleep'
Mallory O'Meara, author of The Lady from the Black Lagoon

'By turns scary and funny, horrifying and real, The Return is impossible to put down. It takes an honest, scathing look at female friendship while at the same time pulling the reader into a perfect nightmare of a story'
Simone St. James, bestselling author of The Sun Down Motel

'The Return is supernatural horror at its very best! Sharp dialogue, complex relationships and mind-bending action will have readers locking their doors and checking under their beds. Rachel Harrison has reinvented this genre and will surely be hailed as a pioneer among her peers'
Wendy Walker, bestselling author of The Night Before

'Hair-raising horror and pure entertainment in Harrison's compulsively readable debut . . . The tension and nuance of Harrison's complicated female friendships add depth to an already delicious, chilling debut'
Publishers Weekly

'Fusing horror and thriller together, it's an unsettling tale of rivalry, envy, fear, friendship and love' Culturefly's Books of 2020

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529351958
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 520 g
Dimensions: 236 x 162 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The Return expertly treads the fine line between thriller and horror. It's as deliciously creepy as opening up a box of candy-coated spiders-and eating them all in one sitting -- Christina Dalcher, bestselling author of * Vox *
The Return is supernatural horror at its very best! Sharp dialogue, complex relationships and mind-bending action will have readers locking their doors and checking under their beds. Rachel Harrison has reinvented this genre and will surely be hailed as a pioneer among her peers -- Wendy Walker, bestselling author of * The Night Before *
The Return is a sharp, refreshing book about the mortifying ordeal of being known. This is a book that understands how terrifying a lasting friendship can truly be; Harrison brilliantly highlights the way friendships can tether a person to their worst memories, their worst selves, and their worst nightmares -- Sarah Gailey, author of * Magic for Liars *
The Return is moving and terrifying in equal measure. A brilliant rumination on friendship, pain, and the myriad of unsuccessful ways we all try to run from our past and fill the holes in our hearts. Harrison's keen prose won't let you go. Be warned, you'll double check the locks on your doors before you try to sleep -- Mallory O'Meara, author of * The Lady from the Black Lagoon *
By turns scary and funny, horrifying and real, The Return is impossible to put down. It takes an honest, scathing look at female friendship while at the same time pulling the reader into a perfect nightmare of a story -- Simone St. James, bestselling author of * The Sun Down Motel *
Combining suspense and horror with razor-sharp insights into the nature of female friendships, Rachel Harrison's The Return is a creepy, nerve-wracking, page-turning addition to the emerging field of horror thrillers -- Alma Katsu, author of * The Deep and The Hunger *
Hair-raising horror and pure entertainment in Harrison's compulsively readable debut . . . The tension and nuance of Harrison's complicated female friendships add depth to an already delicious, chilling debut * Publishers Weekly *
So creepy I didn't want to read it at night. She's so good at building suspense and dread it is borderline upsetting to find this is her first novel. Seriously - you need to prepare yourself * The Warehouse *
A blisteringly scary debut novel from a wildly talented author. A can't-miss book

You may also be interested in...

The Guest List
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
One Good Deed
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Chain
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Knife
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Elevator Pitch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Perfect Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes
Added to basket
Their Little Secret
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.