• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Reminders (Hardback)
  • The Reminders (Hardback)
zoom

The Reminders (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 224 Pages / Published: 10/08/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Ten-year-old Joan was born with a rare gift: she can remember every single day of her life in perfect detail. She can tell you how many times her mother has uttered the phrase `it never fails' in the last six months (twenty-seven), or what she was wearing when her grandfather took her fishing on a particular Sunday in June years ago (fox socks).

But Joan doesn't want to be the girl who remembers everything - she wants to be the girl that no one can forget. When her father's old bandmate Gavin comes to stay, reeling from the sudden loss of his partner Sydney, Joan is keen to enlist his help in making her name. Even if it means using her extraordinary memory to help him solve the mystery of Sydney's final months . . .

Told in the alternating voices of two unforgettable characters, The Reminders by musician and actor Val Emmich is a funny, heart-wrenching and uplifting story of friendship, grief, memory and hope.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509829422
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 449 g
Dimensions: 223 x 145 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Endearing and wise . . . I adored the unlikely friendship between a gifted child who remembers everything and a grieving man who is trying to forget. Emmich brings a compassionate, often comical, and always true eye to his storytelling. Ten-year-old Joan says a good song should either make you want to dance or cry, and The Reminders does both' -- Eowyn Ivey, bestselling author of The Snow Child
Val Emmich has created an indelible cast of complex and quirky characters who drew me in for an emotional and humorous ride . . . A book brimming with heart and soul - you really must read it! -- Garth Stein, bestselling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain
In a story that is both startlingly original and deeply familiar, I could not stop reading, and was bereft when the story ended. -- Jacquelyn Mitchard, bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean
This delightful book is perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Ten-year-old Joan was born with a rare gift: she can remember every single day of her life in perfect detail. When her father's old band mate Gavin comes to stay, reeling from the sudden loss of his partner Sydney, they both embark on an endearing friendship. With a memorable cast of quirky characters, Emmich weaves a touching, character-driven story of grief and new beginnings. The Reminders is tender without being saccharine and tackles complex themes like relationships and forgiveness with considerable subtlety. * Book Riot *

You may also be interested in...

A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock
Added to basket
The Travelling Cat Chronicles
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Secret Garden
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lullaby
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
Force of Nature
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Zanzibar Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Endless Beach
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Faking Friends
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Insidious Intent
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Paperback
Still Me
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Only Story
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lincoln in the Bardo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Emily at York

“Warming and entertaining debut”

A delightful story based around a grieving musician and a young girl who has a remarkable memory where she remembers everything, absolutely everything. The shared love of music brings together this unusual pairing.

I... More

Hardback edition
23rd June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.