Find your perfect holiday reading
The Redemption of Alexander Seaton - Alexander Seaton 1 (Paperback)
  • The Redemption of Alexander Seaton - Alexander Seaton 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Redemption of Alexander Seaton - Alexander Seaton 1 (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99 £6.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 07/05/2009
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Our Scottish Book of the Month for July 2019

A sleuth to rival Shardlake or Cadfael - a mystery that will chill your blood. A must-read for fans of Rory Clements and SJ Parris.

Banff, Scotland, the 1620s. A young man walks unsteadily through the streets. Is he just drunk or is there something more sinister happening? When he collapses in front of two sisters on that dark, wet night, the women guess that he's been poisoned.

His body is discovered in the house of Alexander Seaton - a fallen minister, the discovery of whose clandestine love affair has left him disgraced.

Why was the body in Seaton's house? And why would anyone want to murder this likeable young man? Seaton sets out to find answers, embarking on a journey not only through the darkest part of other men's souls, but also his own.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781847247919
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 278 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Such is the quality of the recreation, not only of the reeking ebb and flow of everyday life but also of the period mindset that it's easy to believe Satan is walking abroad ... this is an accomplished and thought-provoking debut.' - Guardian

'A satisfying, skillfully constructed mystery with richly developed characters ... A truly memorable and exciting read.' - Historical Novel Society

You may also be interested in...

When All is Said
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
I Owe You One
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Never Greener
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Clock Dance
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sweet Sorrow
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Labyrinth of the Spirits
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Still Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A.R.D. at Glasgow Argyle Street

“What more could you want...”

Historical fiction is not normally my bag, and historical crime even less so. But this really gripped me.

Seaton is a fantastic character, and although 'redemption' may be flagged up in the title already,... More

“Fantastic Characters and Local Colour”

I bought this book and then decided it wasn't my cup of tea and left it on the shelf for a long time. What a mistake. I absolutely loved this. As a local to the North East of Scotland the tangible feel of the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.