The Recovery of Rose Gold (Hardback)
  • The Recovery of Rose Gold (Hardback)
zoom

The Recovery of Rose Gold (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 05/03/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

A chilling exploration into obsession, reconciliation and revenge in 2020's must-read novel.

'Sensationally good - two complex characters power the story like a nuclear reaction, and won't let you forget them. Wrobel is one to watch' LEE CHILD

'A spine-chilling thriller injected with themes of obsession and revenge . . . Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train . . . set to be next year's biggest thriller' Stylist

Rose Gold Watts believed she was sick for eighteen years.

She thought she needed the feeding tube, the surgeries, the wheelchair . . .

Turns out her mother is a really good liar.

After five years in prison, Patty Watts is finally free. All she wants is to put old grievances behind her, reconcile with the daughter who testified against her - and care for her new infant grandson.

When Rose Gold agrees to have Patty move in, it seems their relationship is truly on the mend. And she has waited such a long time for her mother to come home.

But is she still the pliable young girl she once was? And is Patty still as keen on settling an old score?

Because if mothers never forget then daughters never forgive.

A chilling tale of obsession, reconciliation and revenge from an incredible new talent.
_______________

'This book has it all - a killer premise, twisty plotting, crisp writing and compelling characters. Dazzling, dark and utterly delicious' J. P. Delaney, bestselling author of The Girl Before

'Takes twisted mum and daughter relationships to a whole new level. Think Misery meets Sharp Objects' C. J. Tudor, bestselling author of The Chalk Man

'One of the most captivating and disturbing thrillers I've read this year. An astonishing debut' Samantha Downing, author of My Lovely Wife

'An absolutely brilliant book; funny, dark, authentic and a total page turner. I loved it' Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of The Family Upstairs

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241416068
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 605 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An absolutely brilliant book; funny, dark, authentic and a total page turner. I loved it * Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of The Family Upstairs *
Sensationally good - two complex characters power the story like a nuclear reaction, and won't let you forget them. Wrobel is one to watch. * Lee Child *
A spine-chilling thriller injected with themes of obsession and revenge . . . Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Paula Hawkin's The Girl on the Train, The Recovery of Rose Gold is set to be next year's biggest thriller * Stylist *
Takes twisted mum and daughter relationships to a whole new level. Think Misery meets Sharp Objects * C. J. Tudor, bestselling author of The Chalk Man *
It's rare for something genuinely fresh to come along in this genre, but this book has it all - a killer premise, twisty plotting, crisp writing and compelling characters. Dazzling, dark and utterly delicious * J P Delaney, bestselling author of The Girl Before *
One of the most captivating and disturbing thrillers I've read this year. An astonishing debut * Samantha Downing, author of My Lovely Wife *
I inhaled this book. The Recovery of Rose Gold delves so deep into family dysfunction that we are left gasping as the last pages turn. Compelling, intriguing, beautifully written and paced like a roller coaster ride, cancel all your plans when you pick up this terrific book * Liz Nugent, bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver and Lying in Wait *
I love it. Fascinating, immersive, whip-smart, with a supremely clever ending that left me gasping (and slightly devastated in the best way) * Melanie Golding, author of Little Darlings *
Wrobel writes a fascinating and thrilling debut that looks deeply into the complicated reasons a mother and daughter can hurt each other. A psychological twister that had me completely captivated until the end * Diane Les Becquets, author of Breaking Wild *
I absolutely devoured it! It's right up my street and I couldn't get enough of Patti and Rose Gold, alternating my opinion of them at the same speed that I was turning the pages! A fabulous read! * Sandie Jones, author of The Other Woman *
Superb! And seriously twisted. This book will play with your mind...then STAY on your mind. Compelling and very, very clever * Teresa Driscoll, bestselling author of I Will Make You Pay. *
Two extraordinary narrators drive the nail-biting action in this sensational, compulsively readable debut. A tour de force of captivating psychological suspense * Gilly Macmillan *
An original, stunning debut! Masterful crafting of a split time-frame and utterly compelling characters will hook readers from the very first page until they finally learn the truth hiding within this chilling mother-daughter relationship. An intelligent, beguiling read that should be at the top of every reader's list * Wendy Walker *
More than a page-turner-although it's undoubtably that - The Recovery of Rose Gold plumbs the depths of this poisoned mother-daughter relationship, asking probing questions about why we all hurt the ones we love. An explosive debut from a thrilling new voice * Kirsten Chen, author of Bury What We Cannot Take *
Wrobel has crafted two gloriously complex characters who will swing the reader between horrified disbelief and empathy in the turn of a single page. Wrobel uses witty writing and clever plotting to ensure the reader will fly through the pages in search of the truth. It takes profound skill to craft such a twisty and darkly entertaining read, and Wrobel does it in her debut as deftly as only the best thriller writers can do * Amy Stuart, #1 bestselling author of Still Mine and Still Water *
Sinister and chilling . . . The writing flows beautifully and I felt like each character was confiding in me, trusting me with their secrets. I loved every bit of this thrilling story and the ending was brilliant and perfect. It's an amazing debut looking at the tangled web of a controlling mother/daughter relationship and a must read in my opinion * NB Magazine *
Striking. Unsettling yet compelling reading * Oxford Times *

You may also be interested in...

All That's Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Joe Country
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Blood Orange
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Secret Service
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Knife
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
American Dirt
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Big Sky
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wakenhyrst
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
My Sister, the Serial Killer
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Their Little Secret
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“An intelligent and enjoyable thriller”

Thanks to Michael Jospeh and NetGalley for an advance e-copy of this!

The Recovery of Rose Gold is a very good and extremely readable thriller. I normally find crime/thriller reads to be similar and predictable, but... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Good ending”

Thank you for the review copy.
There were sadly, times when I could have parked this book and left it but I continued and very much enjoyed the ending!
I just didn't enjoy the characters or the plot.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“A truly psychological rollercoaster!”

This was my first read by Stephanie Wrobel, taking the reader on a truly different psychological rollercoaster! It is the relationship between mother and daughter, completely out of the norm!

The main characters are... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.