The Reader on the 6.27 (Paperback)
  • The Reader on the 6.27 (Paperback)
zoom

The Reader on the 6.27 (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£8.99
Paperback 208 Pages / Published: 10/03/2016
  • Publisher reprinting

Temporarily out of stock

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

An international bestseller from French author Jean-Paul Didierlaurent, The Reader on the 6.27 is ready to take you on a journey . . .

Guylain Vignolles lives on the edge of existence. Working at a book pulping factory in a job he hates, he has but one pleasure in life . . .

Sitting on the 6.27 train each day, Guylain recites aloud from pages he has saved from the jaws of his monstrous pulping machine. But it is when he discovers the diary of a lonely young woman, Julie - a woman who feels as lost in the world as he does - that his journey will truly begin . . .

The Reader on the 6.27 is a tale bursting with larger-than-life characters, each of whom touches Guylain's life for the better. For fans of Amelie and Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore, this captivating novel is a warm, funny fable about literature's power to uplift even the most downtrodden of lives.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447276494
Number of pages: 208
Weight: 196 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A delightful tale about the kinship of reading... Much of the charm resides in the simplicity of Didierlaurent's prose and his vivid characterisation. Ros Schwartz's translation perfectly conveys the warmth and eccentricities of his memorable cast. Already a bestseller in France, The Reader on the 6.27 looks set to woo British readers and become a book club favourite * Independent on Sunday *
Charming . . . It is a clever, funny, and humane work that champions the power of literature * Sunday Times *
This contemporary fable was acquired by more than twenty countries. A beautiful testimony to the universality of the love of books * Livres Hebdo *
The humanity of the characters . . . the re-enchantment of everyday life, the power of words and literature, tenderness and humor . . . The Reader on the 6.27 is a must. * L'Express *
I read it in one sitting, I couldn't put it down! It is one of those feel-good books that gets you really invested in the character's story, and then puts you in a good mood when you finish it. There is an underlying element of it being a love story, but the novel is so much more than that. * Literary Loveliness - Hello Magazine Online *

You may also be interested in...

A Little Life
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Loney
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A God in Ruins
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
All the Light We Cannot See
Added to basket
Noonday
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Green Road
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
My Brilliant Friend
Added to basket
The Buried Giant
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Versions of Us
Added to basket
Where My Heart Used to Beat
Added to basket

“A beautiful tale about the love of books”

I received a copy of this book from the publishers and this is my honest review of the book.

Guylain Vignolles dreads the journey to work every day. Working at a book pulping plant it breaks his heart to destroy the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 121
Nicole @WstonesHemel

“If You Read One Translation This Year Read This! ”

This is one of my favourite reads.
A man reads out loud from a folder everyday on the train. We find out he works at a paper pulping depot where books meet a mulchy end. He saves what pages he can.
The story... More

Paperback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 118

“If Michel Gondry and Wes Anderson were to write a book, this would be it.”

There is a point in most people's lives when they will find themselves doing a job they hate, for booklover Guylain Vignolles, it's as a book pulper. Each day he sets off to work, comforted only by his... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 76

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.