The Railway Girls - The railway girls series (Paperback)
  • The Railway Girls - The railway girls series (Paperback)
zoom

The Railway Girls - The railway girls series (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 28/05/2020
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

The first novel in the wonderful new Railway Girls series, perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean.
_____________________

'Stunning writing [and] perfectly paced'
Frost Magazine

'A story of true friendship, love, loss and trust'
Candis
_____________________

In February, 1922, at the western-most entrance to Victoria Station in Manchester, a massive plaque was unveiled. Beneath a vast tiled map showing the lines of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway network, a series of seven bronze panels recorded the names of the men of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway who gave their lives for King and Country in the Great War - a total of 1,460 names.

In March, 1940, a group of women of varying ages and backgrounds, stand in front of the memorial, ready to do their bit in this new World War...
_____________________

Mabel is determined to make a fresh start as a railway girl where no one will know the terrible thing she did and she can put her guilt behind her... Or is she just running away?

Meanwhile Joan will never be as good as her sister, or so her Gran keeps telling her. A new job as a station clerk could be just the thing she needs to forget her troubles at home.

And Dot is further into her forties than she cares to admit. Her beloved sons are away fighting and her husband - well, the less said about him the better. Ratty old sod. She is anxious to become a railway girl just like her dear mam - anything to feel she is supporting the sons she prays for every night.

The three women start off as strangers, but soon form an unbreakable bond that will get them through the toughest of times...
_____________________

**Maisie's brand new novel THE RAILWAY GIRLS IN LOVE is available to pre-order now. Just search: 9781787463981**

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781787463967
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 309 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A story of true friendship, love, loss and trust * Candis *
Stunning writing, perfectly paced and never rushed, a slow and realistic journey through the phoney war, Dunkirk and into the beginnings of the blitz * Frost Magazine *
Enjoyable, satisfying and brilliantly researched . . . gripping and intriguing * Northern Reader *
A thoroughly enjoyable read . . . interesting character and great story lines * Shaz's Book Blog *
An exceptional story with believable characters . . a must read for all historical fiction fans * Chells and Books *

You may also be interested in...

The Orphan's Dream
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Dilly's Sacrifice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Four Swans
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Casting Off
Added to basket
The Best of Daughters
Added to basket
A Mother's Struggle
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
We'll Meet Again
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Twisted Sword
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Workhouse Girl
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Loving Cup
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader

“A poignant tale!”

The Railway Girls by Maisie Thomas has Mabel, Joan, Dot, and other ladies volunteering to work for the railway during World War II. Mabel is eager to escape her hometown so she can get a fresh start away from the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A group of women come together in 1940 to work on the railways - with challenges and secrets”

A group of women meet in February 1940 in unusual circumstances, a mixture of ages, experiences and apparently class. They will take the place of men and work on the railways in Manchester, but they will also form a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
Michelle Russell Chellsandbooks

“The Railway Girls is an exceptional story”

I would like thank Rachel Kennedy at Random House UK, Cornerstone for asking me to review this book and be apart of the blog tour. Rachel has introduced me to some really amazing books, The Prisoner's Wife by... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.