The Quickening (Paperback)
  • The Quickening (Paperback)
zoom

The Quickening (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'If you like gothic mystery, buckle up! This atmospheric read has it all'
Woman magazine

'An historical novel dripping with menace'
Shari Lapena, author of The End of Her

***********

England, 1925. Louisa Drew lost her husband in the First World War and her six-year-old twin sons in the Spanish Flu epidemic of 1918. Newly re-married and seven months pregnant, Louisa is asked by her employer to travel to Clewer Hall in Sussex where she is to photograph the contents of the house for auction.

She learns Clewer Hall was host to an infamous seance in 1896, and that the lady of the house has asked those who gathered back then to come together once more to recreate the evening.

When a mysterious child appears on the grounds, Louisa finds herself compelled to investigate and becomes embroiled in the strange happenings of the house. Gradually, she unravels the long-held secrets of the inhabitants and what really happened thirty years before... and discovers her own fate is entwined with that of Clewer Hall's.

For fans of The Silent Companions, The Little Stranger and The Familiars, an exquisitely crafted and compelling mystery that invites the reader in to the crumbling Clewer Hall to help unlock its secrets.

**********

'Utterly brilliant... full of secrets and deliciously creepy'
Lisa Hall, author of The Perfect Couple

'A spooky treat, which had me turning the pages faster and faster'
Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409192183
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A creepy, evocative mystery * Heat *
An historical novel dripping with menace, featuring a sympathetic heroine, seances, and family secrets-there's so much to love about The Quickening! * Shari Lapena, author of The End of Her *
If you like gothic mystery, buckle up! This atmospheric read has it all * Woman magazine *
Utterly brilliant... full of secrets and deliciously creepy, I raced through it * Lisa Hall, author of The Perfect Couple *
A spooky treat, which had me turning the pages faster and faster -- Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood
A powerful, spine-tingling, beautifully written gothic mystery full of real, complex characters, smart, dark twists and utterly immersive historical detail. -- Hayley Webster
It's twisty and atmospheric, seriously creepy, and has an inspiring central character I was rooting for. * Cressida McLaughlin *

You may also be interested in...

The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sepulchre
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Nicole @hemelwstones

“A Photographer, A Séance And A Curse Make For A Haunting Tale.”

I thought this would be an interesting ghost story and it was.
A pregnant photographer is commissioned to take photos at Clewer Hall as they auction off collections in order to move abroad in 1925.
Louisa Drew is... More

Hardback edition
7 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 5

“A captivating story with an unsettling backdrop”

If I’ve read a book that sets up a character’s backstory more quickly or effectively, I can’t recall it. From the off, Sarah Ward shows us enough of Louisa’s interesting life thus far to want to follow her through the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“England, 1925.....”

Louisa Drew lost her husband in the First World War and her twin sons in the Spanish Flu epidemic of 1918.
Newly remarried and pregnant, Louisa is commissioned to travel to Clewer Hall where she is to photograph the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.