The Quickening (Hardback)
  • The Quickening (Hardback)
zoom

The Quickening (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 20/08/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

An infamous seance. A house burdened by grief. A secret that can no longer stay buried.

England, 1925. Louisa Drew lost her husband in the First World War and her six-year-old twin sons in the Spanish Flu epidemic of 1918. Newly re-married and seven months pregnant, Louisa is asked by her employer to travel to Clewer Hall in Sussex to photograph the contents of the house for auction. Desperate for money after falling on hard times, she accepts the commission.

On arrival, she learns Clewer Hall was host to an infamous seance in 1896, the consequences of which still haunt the family. Before the Clewer's leave England for good, the lady of the house has asked those who attended the original seance to recreate the evening. Louisa soon becomes embroiled in the strange happenings of the house, unravelling the longheld secrets of what happened that night thirty years before... and discovers her own fate is entwined with Clewer Hall's.

An exquisitely crafted mystery that invites the reader into the crumbling Clewer Hall to help unlock its secrets alongside the unforgettable Louisa Drew.

For fans of The Silent Companions, The Little Stranger and The Familiars.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409192176
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 540 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A creepy, evocative mystery * Heat *
An historical novel dripping with menace, featuring a sympathetic heroine, seances, and family secrets-there's so much to love about The Quickening! * Shari Lapena, author of The End of Her *
If you like gothic mystery, buckle up! This atmospheric read has it all * Woman magazine *
Utterly brilliant... full of secrets and deliciously creepy, I raced through it * Lisa Hall, author of The Perfect Couple *
A spooky treat, which had me turning the pages faster and faster -- Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood
A powerful, spine-tingling, beautifully written gothic mystery full of real, complex characters, smart, dark twists and utterly immersive historical detail. -- Hayley Webster
It's twisty and atmospheric, seriously creepy, and has an inspiring central character I was rooting for. * Cressida McLaughlin *

You may also be interested in...

The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Troubles
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket

“A captivating story with an unsettling backdrop”

If I’ve read a book that sets up a character’s backstory more quickly or effectively, I can’t recall it. From the off, Sarah Ward shows us enough of Louisa’s interesting life thus far to want to follow her through the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Nicole @hemelwstones

“A Photographer, A Séance And A Curse Make For A Haunting Tale.”

I thought this would be an interesting ghost story and it was.
A pregnant photographer is commissioned to take photos at Clewer Hall as they auction off collections in order to move abroad in 1925.
Louisa Drew is... More

Hardback edition
7 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“England, 1925.....”

Louisa Drew lost her husband in the First World War and her twin sons in the Spanish Flu epidemic of 1918.
Newly remarried and pregnant, Louisa is commissioned to travel to Clewer Hall where she is to photograph the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.