The Queen's Spy (Paperback)
  • The Queen's Spy (Paperback)
zoom

The Queen's Spy (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 08/07/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A perilous mission. An unforgivable betrayal. A secret lost in time...

1584: Elizabeth I rules England. But a dangerous plot is brewing in court, and Mary Queen of Scots will stop at nothing to take her cousin's throne.

There's only one thing standing in her way: Tom, the queen's trusted apothecary, who makes the perfect silent spy...

2021: Travelling the globe in her campervan, Mathilde has never belonged anywhere. So when she receives news of an inheritance, she is shocked to discover she has a family in England.

Just like Mathilde, the medieval hall she inherits conceals secrets, and she quickly makes a haunting discovery. Can she unravel the truth about what happened there all those years ago? And will she finally find a place to call home?

Enchanting and gripping, The Queen's Spy effortlessly merges past with present in an unforgettable tale of love, courage and betrayal - perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kathryn Hughes.

Readers love The Queen's Spy:

'Clare Marchant writes and plots flawlessly.' Carol McGrath, bestselling author of The Silken Rose

'Clare writes beautifully and weaves the historical details into the story very skillfully to create such depth and richness. I was gripped from the start and found it an atmospheric and haunting book that will enchant anyone who loves history.' Nicola McCornick, author of The Forgotten Sister

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008454357
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Clare Marchant:

'Emotional and intense, this is a page-turning story of secrets that echo through time' RACHEL HORE, author of The Love Child

'A rich and vivid historical story, The Secrets of Saffron Hall is one of those rare books that is totally engrossing. I loved it' NICOLA CORNICK, author of The Forgotten Sister

'The past and present is skilfully entwined in this captivating and emotional debut' HEIDI SWAIN, author of The Secret Seaside Escape

'Emotive, immersive and compelling, a beautiful story that captures the heart' LIZ FENWICK, author of The Path to the Sea

'This pulled me in and didn't let me go: a page-turner with such historical depth and tender touch that it enchanted my heart. I adored it.' LAURA JANE WILLIAMS, author of Our Stop

'Intriguing and fascinating, a real insight into a turbulent time in England's history' KATHLEEN MCGURL, author of The Secret of the Chateau

'An intensely gripping, emotional read, that kept me turning the pages until the early hours of the morning. An atmospheric story sure to please all fans of timeslip novels!' CHRISTINA COURTENAY, author of Echoes of the Runes

'A beautifully written story which pulls you in and whisks you away to another time. Clare Marchant is a fabulous new talent' ROSIE HENDRY, author of the East End Angels series

'A charming and engaging mystery, beautifully told' JENNI KEER, author of The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker

'An emotionally gripping and page-turning tale of love and loss' NATALIE MEG EVANS, author of The Paris Girl

You may also be interested in...

Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket

“An engaging historical mystery with time slippage”

My thanks to Avon Books U.K. for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘The Queen’s Spy’ by Clare Marchant in exchange for an honest review.

1584: Tom returns to England where he had been born over forty years ago. As a young boy... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Historical mystery”

First of all thank you to NetGalley and Avon books for an arc copy of this lovely book. I hadn’t heard of Clare Marchant, but the title intrigued me. as I enjoy historical fiction.
This story has a dual timeline. The... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Absolutely loved it.”

I really enjoyed Clare Marchant's first book, Secrets of Saffron Hall, so was sure I would enjoy this one too. It more than exceeded my expectations and I absolutely loved it, even more than I did her first.
The... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.