The Puritan Princess (Hardback)
  • The Puritan Princess (Hardback)
zoom

The Puritan Princess (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£20.99
Hardback 448 Pages / Published: 02/04/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket

Power, passion and a devastating fight for the crown - discover the gripping story of Oliver Cromwell's youngest daughter. Perfect for fans of Anne O'Brien, Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory

'A powerful and superbly researched historical novel' Andrew Taylor, author of The Last Protector

1657. The youngest daughter of Oliver Cromwell, eighteen-year-old Frances is finding her place at England's new centre of power.

Following the turmoil of Civil War, a fragile sense of stability has returned to the country. Her father has risen to the unprecedented position of Lord Protector of the Commonwealth, and Frances has found herself transported from her humble childhood home to the sumptuous palaces of Hampton Court and Whitehall, where she dreams of romance.

But after an assassination attempt on the Cromwell family, Frances realises the precarious danger of her position - and when her father is officially offered the crown, Frances' fate becomes a matter of diplomatic and dynastic importance.

Trapped in the web of court intrigue, Frances must make a choice. Allow herself to be a political pawn, or use her new status to take control - of her own future, and of her country's...

***

Readers are swept away by The Puritan Princess:

'There is much to enjoy in this evocation of a family whose lives are so upended by the convulsions of history' Antonia Senior, The Times

'Totally gripping... grab it now. There's a new Cromwell on the shelves!' Minoo Dinshaw, author of Outlandish Knight

'The Puritan Princess is a genuinely moving portrait of the tragedy of the Cromwells at the height of their power, and Miranda Malins handles the tumultuous drama of the last days of the Protectorate with incredible aplomb' S G MacLean, author of the Damian Seeker series

'A fine and compelling debut novel, giving a fresh slant on a period of British history still unfamiliar to many. Miranda Malins creates a cast of three-dimensional characters, vividly imagined against a deeply researched historical background. A joy to read' Rowan Williams

'This engaging novel brings one of the most momentous but least well known periods of English history vividly to life.' Carolyn Kirby, author of THE CONVICTION OF CORA BURNS

'Miranda Malins has offered us a thrilling debut novel, packed with expert scene-setting and juicy details, bringing to life her characters with aplomb and as a result allowing readers to revel in 17th century England's epicentre of power.' Prof Michael Scott, University of Warwick

'Simply brilliant' Rachel Phipps, blogger

'A fresh look at the Cromwell family . . . perfect reading in lockdown' The Punch

'Started reading The Puritan Princess last night and stayed up reading it until the wee small hours. Really well written and gripping stuff. Can't wait to get back to it this evening!'

'Passion, power and politics, what a treat. Utterly brilliant'

'A delightful evening. Absolutely loving The Puritan Princess'

'Fabulous book - the perfect escape'

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409194798
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 680 g
Dimensions: 238 x 164 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This engaging novel brings one of the most momentous but least well known periods of English history vividly to life.

There is much to enjoy in this evocation of a family whose lives are so upended by the convulsions of history. - The Times

Miranda Malins has offered us a thrilling debut novel, packed with expert scene-setting and juicy details, bringing to life her characters with aplomb and as a result allowing readers to revel in 17th century England's epicentre of power - Prof Michael Scott, Professor of Classics and Ancient History, University of Warwick

You may also be interested in...

The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Troubles
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
The Beginning of Spring
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“An excellent read and an exciting debut novel”

This is one of those books that you will remember forever, will keep on your best shelf and will read again, probably more than once. It is a book that will change your definition of good writing. In this masterful... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“A brilliant first novel”

As Miranda's uncle, I declare an interest! Her debut novel is a fascinating tale of life in Oliver Cromwell's time., beautifully researched and deeply moving.Yes,I struggled a bit with the early part-many... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.