Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Punishment of Virtue: Walking the Frontline of the War on Terror with a Woman Who Has Made it Her Home (Paperback)
  • The Punishment of Virtue: Walking the Frontline of the War on Terror with a Woman Who Has Made it Her Home (Paperback)
zoom

The Punishment of Virtue: Walking the Frontline of the War on Terror with a Woman Who Has Made it Her Home (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 08/10/2007
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
This work is suitable for readers of George Packer's "The Assassin's Gate", Asne Seierstad's "The Bookseller of Kabul", Christina Lamb's "The Sewing Circles of Herat", Jason Burke's "Al Qaeda", Rory Stewart's "The Places In-Between", Samantha Power's "A Problem from Hell", and Azir Nafisi's "Reading Lolita In Tehran." What happens when the War on Terror media circus packs up and leaves town? Sarah Chayes has spent the past six years in Afghanistan in order to find out. Living in the old capital Kandahar, dressing like a man, and befriending the heroic Chief of Police, Akrem, she gains unparalleled access to tribal leaders, cunning warlords, jihadist insurgents and opium traders, as well as politicians, security chiefs and Pakistani Intelligence agents - all contending for power in this uniquely strategic place at a pivotal moment in its history. Hers is an urgent book, and a mesmerizingly readable story.

Publisher: Granta Books
ISBN: 9781846270765
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm
Edition: New edition

You may also be interested in...

China
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Afgantsy
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Chickenhawk
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
India
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Opium War
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
A Short History of Byzantium
Added to basket
A History of the Middle East
Added to basket
As I Crossed a Bridge of Dreams
Added to basket
Samurai
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Nemesis
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Paperback
The Railway Man
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Japan
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Genghis Khan
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Korean War
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Last Mughal
Added to basket
Return of a King
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.