The Power of Not Thinking: How Our Bodies Learn and Why We Should Trust Them (Hardback)
  • The Power of Not Thinking: How Our Bodies Learn and Why We Should Trust Them (Hardback)
zoom

The Power of Not Thinking: How Our Bodies Learn and Why We Should Trust Them (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 31/12/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
SHORTLISTED FOR BEST SPECIALIST BUSINESS BOOK AT THE BUSINESS BOOK AWARDS 2021 Have you ever relied on your hand to remember your pin rather than your memory? Or acted out a golf stroke before going for it? Or listened to your gut on a big decision? In this insightful new book, leading business anthropologist Simon Roberts breaks down the revolutionary idea of embodied knowledge: the information that is unconsciously picked up by our body for use in every area of our lives. Drawing on his own experience working with some of the world's leading industry experts and looking at a range of real-life examples and cutting-edge science, Roberts explains the various ways in which our body acquires, retains and employs information and why we should learn to trust the instincts that inform the most crucial decisions and actions in our lives. The Power of Not Thinking shows why humans are capable of far more than we are currently led to believe. We just have to stop thinking and start trusting our bodies.

Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788703048
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 555 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Embodied habits matter deeply, as illustrated powerfully in Roberts' timely new book. * Financial Times *
A humanistic perspective on tech * Maria Bezaitis, Intel *
An incredibly thoughtful and thought-provoking book about the power of not over-thinking * Charles Leadbeater, social innovator and author *
'Has the potential to change the way you think about understanding people' * Martha Cotton, Fjord/Accenture *
Roberts shows us that our bodies, as well as our minds, have a vital role to play in the contribution that human beings make * Stefan Stern, author of How To Be A Better Leader *
An excellent and delightfully readable book * Christian Madsbjerg, Professor of Applied Humanities *
This book is as timely as it is important. Bodies have always mattered but it takes a voice as clear as Simon Roberts to remind us of just how very much, and why embodiment should be a critical part of all our conversations about the future. * Genevieve Bell *
A lovely account that explains why executives, financiers, policy makers (and everybody else) needs to embrace walking in someone else's shoes * Guardian *

You may also be interested in...

The Obstacle is the Way
Added to basket
The Personal MBA
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Mastery
Added to basket
£17.99
Paperback
Good To Great
Added to basket
£22.99
Hardback
Business Adventures
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
No Angel
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Snowball
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Start It Up
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
How Google Works
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Business Book
Added to basket
DK
£19.99
Hardback
Zero to One
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Losing My Virginity
Added to basket
What Money Can't Buy
Added to basket
What You See Is What You Get
Added to basket
Barbarians At The Gate
Added to basket

“For fans of Daniel Kahneman and Malcolm Gladwell...”

We often think of the mind and body as distinct: the mind does the thinking while the body responds to what the mind wants it to do. Furthermore, we think of the mind as somehow being inner and mysterious, whereas the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.