The Poison Tree (Paperback)
  • The Poison Tree (Paperback)
zoom

The Poison Tree (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 12/05/2011
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

By the end of that summer, two people would be dead... Fans of In A Dark Dark Wood and The Couple Next Door will love this twisty thriller.

I have given up so much and done so many terrible things already for the sake of my family that I can only keep going.

I do not know what is going to happen to us.

I am frightened, but I feel strong.

I have the strength of a woman who has everything to lose.

In the sweltering summer of 1997, strait-laced, straight-A student Karen met Biba - a bohemian and impossibly glamorous aspiring actress.

She was quickly drawn into Biba's world, and for a while life was one long summer of love.

But every summer must end. By the end of theirs, two people were dead - and now Karen's past has come back to haunt her . . .

STONE MOTHERS, the new novel by Erin Kelly, is available to buy now!

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444701050
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 262 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A terrific suspense debut, reminiscent of another British woman's auspicious bow: Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca . . . This one gets the writer's ultimate bit of praise: I wish I had written it. - Stephen King

A beautifully crafted, evocative psychological thriller . . . dark, poetic, gripping, totally brilliant. - The Times

Unusually good . . . an author who instinctively knows how to tell a suspense story (think early Barbara Vine) - Daily Mail

The writing is elegant, atmospheric and sophisticated. - Sophie Hannah

Brilliant! THE POISON TREE grabs you with the first sentence and doesn't let go--even after the last page; this is the sort of thriller that stays with you for a long, long time. Compelling and lyrically stylish, THE POISON TREE is a true winner! - Jeffery Deaver

A brilliant new voice in crime fiction . . . Kelly creates an atmosphere as claustrophobic as a summer commute, which permeates the narrative and keeps the reader hooked. - Stylist

A tense, twisting thriller . . . Atmospheric and gripping, it will keep you guessing to the end - Cosmopolitan

The dark world of psychological thrillers has a bright new voice . . . [a] twisted, brooding, creepy debut. - Daily Mirror

In her compelling debut, Erin Kelly evokes the brooding atmosphere of Rebecca, in a contemporary and completely convincing novel of tangled family desires. - Sara Paretsky

THE POISON TREE has a nicely claustrophobic cape wrapped round it . . . the novel's a clever tease, the pay-off more than worth it - Time Out

You may also be interested in...

The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Waiting
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Well plotted story”

Erin Kelly's debut novel is superbly plotted - with just enough information being dripped to the reader to keep your interest and to carry the story along. Perhaps the characterisation is less well developed, but... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 63

“Amazing first book”

Not quite sure about The poison Tree when I first got it. The cover is a little dark and sinister. I half imagined a thriller/horror novel lay within. Boy, was I wrong. Thriller yes but horror not at all. More of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 45

“The Poison Tree”

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 40

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: