The Poet X (Paperback)
  • The Poet X (Paperback)
zoom

The Poet X (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'I fell in love at slam poetry. This one will stay with you a long time.' - Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give THE POET X - a stunning New York Times bestseller with a powerful and unforgettable YA voice. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi's The Children of Blood and Bone, Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and Sarah Crossan's One. Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets - her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent. A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written - dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith - this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy, Nicola Yoon's Everything Everything and Zoella Book Club choice Moxie. 'This was the type of book where "I'll just do 50 pages" turned into finishing it in 2 reads. I felt very emotional, not just because the story and the words themselves were so beautiful but because I knew it was going to make so many teens who felt like no one cares about them or listens to them feel seen.' - Tomi Adeyemi, bestselling author of The Children of Blood and Bone 'A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart.' - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains 'Acevedo breathes words instead of air' - Lisa Heathfield, author of award-winning Paper Butterflies `Powerful, finely crafted verse . . . Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer' Guardian ELIZABETH ACEVEDO was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city's tough grit. She holds a BA in Performing Arts from The George Washington University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Maryland. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has performed internationally and her poetry has been featured in Cosmopolitan, The Huffington Post and Teen Vogue. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd
ISBN: 9781405291460
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 352 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm

You may also be interested in...

La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdown (book 13)
Added to basket
Tom Gates: Epic Adventure (kind of)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Last Chance Hotel
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
There's A Yeti In The Playground!
Added to basket
Dork Diaries: Birthday Drama!
Added to basket
The Tales of Beedle the Bard
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Tom Gates 15: What Monster?
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Birthday Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback

Reviews

View all
Lauren

“An emotionally charged, thoughtful, and exceptionally well-developed verse novel.”

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

The Poet X is a beautiful, lyrical novel written in verse. It follows Xiomara, a young girl in Harlem as she questions her faith, pushes back on... More

Paperback edition
19th March 2018
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Beautiful writing. ”

This is the story of Xiomara, a young poet coming of age in a Dominican family living in Harlem. Her mother is controlling, her father is absent and Catholicism looms large over her life. The book is beautifully... More

Paperback edition
3rd May 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Beautiful Read.”

I highly recommend this book. I found the characters very easy to relate to and very emotive. Beautiful read!

Paperback edition
3rd May 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.