The Poet X (Paperback)
  • The Poet X (Paperback)
  • The Poet X (Paperback)
  • The Poet X (Paperback)
zoom
The Poet X (Paperback) The Poet X (Paperback)

The Poet X (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • 10+ in stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

The Poet X is a raw, effervescent debut novel about the power of language and speaking your own truth. Written entirely in verse, this Waterstones Children’s Book Prize nominee follows the trials and tribulations of Xiomara, a teenager growing up in a tough Harlem neighbourhood, and her creative release in the world of slam poetry.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2019

Shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019

Winner of the 2018 National Book Award

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself.

When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets - her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written - dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith - this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy and Everything EverythingThe Children of Blood and BoneThe Hate U Give and One.

Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city's tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has delivered several TED Talks. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd
ISBN: 9781405291460
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 310 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'I fell in love at slam poetry. This one will stay with you a long time.' - Angie Thomas, author of The Hate U Give

'This was the type of book where "I'll just do 50 pages" turned into finishing it in 2 reads. I felt very emotional, not just because the story and the words themselves were so beautiful but because I knew it was going to make so many teens who felt like no one cares about them or listens to them feel seen.' - Tomi Adeyemi, author of The Children of Blood and Bone

'Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.' - Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

'An incredibly potent debut.' - Jason Reynolds, author of Ghost

'Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.' - Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street 

'A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart.' - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains

'Acevedo breathes words instead of air' - Lisa Heathfield, author of Paper Butterflies 

'Powerful, finely crafted verse... Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer.' - The Guardian

You may also be interested in...

The Littlest Yak
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Polar Express
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
There's an Elf in Your Book
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Grinny Granny Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Dinosaur that Pooped a Pirate
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Look Up!
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Rupert Annual 2021
Added to basket
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
Dogger's Christmas
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Oor Wullie Annual 2021
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Beautiful Read.”

I highly recommend this book. I found the characters very easy to relate to and very emotive. Beautiful read!

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28
Lauren

“An emotionally charged, thoughtful, and exceptionally well-developed verse novel.”

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

The Poet X is a beautiful, lyrical novel written in verse. It follows Xiomara, a young girl in Harlem as she questions her faith, pushes back on... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Powerful and beautifully told through gorgeous verse”

Wow. Powerful and beautifully told through gorgeous verse. A story of love, family, friendship and the pressures of those very things including religion, sexuality and culture. I don’t often read books written in... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.