The Poet X (Paperback)
  • The Poet X (Paperback)
  • The Poet X (Paperback)
  • The Poet X (Paperback)
zoom
The Poet X (Paperback) The Poet X (Paperback)

The Poet X (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 03/05/2018
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The Poet X is a raw, effervescent debut novel about the power of language and speaking your own truth. Written entirely in verse, this Waterstones Children’s Book Prize nominee follows the trials and tribulations of Xiomara, a teenager growing up in a tough Harlem neighbourhood, and her creative release in the world of slam poetry.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2019

Shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019

Winner of the 2018 National Book Award

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself.

When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets - her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written - dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith - this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy and Everything EverythingThe Children of Blood and BoneThe Hate U Give and One.

Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city's tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has delivered several TED Talks. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9781405291460
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 310 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

I fell in love at slam poetry. This one will stay with you a long time.', Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give 'This was the type of book where "I'll just do 50 pages" turned into finishing it in 2 reads. I felt very emotional, not just because the story and the words themselves were so beautiful but because I knew it was going to make so many teens who felt like no one cares about them or listens to them feel seen.', Tomi Adeyemi, bestselling author of The Children of Blood and Bone '‘Powerful, finely crafted verse . . . Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer’', Guardian 'A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart', Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains 'The force and intensity behind her words practically pushes them off the page, resulting in a verse novel that is felt as much as it is heard. This is a book from the heart, and for the heart.', New York Times Book Review 'First I read #ThePoetX. Now I'm listening to the audio read by @AcevedoWrites. Happy I don't have to choose between brilliances', Jacqueline Woodson, multiple award-winning author of If You Come Softly and Brown Girl Dreaming 'Acevedo breathes words instead of air', Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Paper Butterflies

You may also be interested in...

If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Överlöde (Book 17)
Added to basket
Supertato: Eviltato vs Superpea
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Looshkin: Honk If You See It!
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Bunny vs Monkey: Bunny Bonanza!
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Tom Gates: Book of Everything
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Astrochimp
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Skandar 4
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: No Brainer (Book 18)
Added to basket
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Powerful and beautifully told through gorgeous verse”

Wow. Powerful and beautifully told through gorgeous verse. A story of love, family, friendship and the pressures of those very things including religion, sexuality and culture. I don’t often read books written in... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 50

“Beautiful Read.”

I highly recommend this book. I found the characters very easy to relate to and very emotive. Beautiful read!

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 47
Lauren

“An emotionally charged, thoughtful, and exceptionally well-developed verse novel.”

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

The Poet X is a beautiful, lyrical novel written in verse. It follows Xiomara, a young girl in Harlem as she questions her faith, pushes back on... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 46

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: