The Plague Letters (Hardback)
  • The Plague Letters (Hardback)
zoom

The Plague Letters (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 416 Pages
Published: 01/04/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Both gloriously haunting and darkly humorous, The Plague Letters sets Rector Symon Patrick and a young woman called Penelope on the trail of a murderer and those performing sinister experiments on the dying in 1660s London.

WHO WOULD MURDER THE DYING...

London, 1665. Hidden within the growing pile of corpses in his churchyard, Rector Symon Patrick discovers a victim of the pestilence unlike any he has seen before: a young woman with a shorn head, covered in burns, and with pieces of twine delicately tied around each wrist and ankle.

Desperate to discover the culprit, Symon joins a society of eccentric medical men who have gathered to find a cure for the plague. Someone is performing terrible experiments upon the dying, hiding their bodies amongst the hundreds that fill the death carts.

Only Penelope - a new and mysterious addition to Symon's household - may have the skill to find the killer. Far more than what she appears, she is already on the hunt. But the dark presence that enters the houses of the sick will not stop, and has no mercy...

This hugely atmospheric and entertaining historical thriller will transport readers to the palaces and alleyways of seventeenth-century London. Perfect for fans of Laura Shepherd-Robinson, Andrew Taylor and C.J. Sansom.

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788164535
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 640 g
Dimensions: 232 x 146 x 40 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

A funny, fascinating and gripping adventure tale. It's as if V.L. Valentine holds up a magic mirror to reflect a lesson in time for us now - Janice Hallett, author of THE APPEAL

A glorious whodunnit. I loved the characters, and fell in love with its world - Leonora Nattrass, author of BLACK DROP

A riotous delve into the dark medical world of Restoration London. In her heroine Penelope and the hapless Symon, V.L.Valentine has given us an appealing and truly unique pairing - S.G. MacLean, author of THE SEEKER

An infectious read, packed with atmosphere and colourful characters - Oscar de Muriel, author of THE STRINGS OF MURDER

Endearing, comic characters and crisp, spirited prose. The Plague Letters is a gripping whodunnit with a sinister twist, depicting the desperate scramble to find a cure and capture a killer - Jennifer Ryan, author of THE CHILBURY LADIES' CHOIR

V.L. Valentine drops us deep into a single deadly year, 1665, into a sickening, increasingly desperate London wonderfully evoked. A terrific read! - Alix Nathan, author of THE WARLOW EXPERIMENT

V.L. Valentine's visceral debut skilfully immerses the reader in the dread and despair of plague-ridden London during the stinking hot summer of 1665 - Aspects of History

A rollicking, roistering tale with humour, horror and human decency at its dark heart. Such prescience, relevance and wonderful characters! - Kate Griffin, author of KITTY PECK AND THE MUSIC HALL MURDERS

Brilliantly convincing and thrillingly infectious - S.W. Perry, author of THE ANGEL'S MARK

A gorgeous, darkly witty novel that transports the reader to the London of Charles II. Valentine takes the reader to squalid back alleys and serene country estates with equal aplomb. Those looking for a wonderfully entertaining escape from our own dark times need look no further - Mariah Fredericks, author of A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE

You may also be interested in...

Alchemy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Betrayal
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Maiden
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Burial Plot
Added to basket
Shanghai
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The Puzzle Wood
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Munich Wolf
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Beholders
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Danger of Defeat
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“What will you uncover?”

London, 1665. Hidden within a pile of corpses, one victim of this pestilence stands out: a young woman with a shorn head, bound wrists and ankles, along with strange markings over her body...
Rector Symon Patrick... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Great whodunnit with a wonderful sense of time and place.”

London 1665, and the bubonic plague, which started slowly in the spring of that year, began to spread much more quickly during the hot summer months. Eventually, the city was closed by order of the King - no one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Great historical novel”

This is a really great historical read full of murder, intrigue and dark goings on. All the characters are larger than life and that alongside the dark descriptions of the plague and the 17th century, the story... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: