The Phone Box at the Edge of the World (Hardback)
  • The Phone Box at the Edge of the World (Hardback)
zoom

The Phone Box at the Edge of the World (Hardback)

(author), (translator)
£12.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 25/06/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Immensely moving and emotionally powerful, Messina’s novel of hope and consolation in the face of unimaginable loss is possessed of a rare empathetic pull. Perfect for fans of The Beekeeper of Aleppo, The Phone Box on the Edge of the World is a heartbreaking work of contemporary fiction.

Exclusive Edition. Contains an extra essay called, Journey to the Wind Phone.

We all have something to tell those we have lost . . .

When Yui loses her mother and daughter in the tsunami, she wonders how she will ever carry on. Yet, in the face of this unthinkable loss, life must somehow continue. Then one day she hears about a man who has an old disused telephone box in his garden. There, those who have lost loved ones find the strength to speak to them and begin to come to terms with their grief. As news of the phone box spreads, people will travel to it from miles around. Soon Yui will make her own pilgrimage to the phone box, too. But once there she cannot bring herself to speak into the receiver. Then she finds Takeshi, a bereaved husband whose own daughter has stopped talking in the wake of their loss.

What happens next will warm your heart, even when it feels as though it is breaking. For when you've lost everything - what can you find?

Publisher: Manilla
ISBN: 9781786580399
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 355 g
Dimensions: 223 x 140 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'This beautiful novel tells a story of universal loss and the power of love. It will remain engraved in my heart and mind forever. During these difficult times we face, it addresses questions that we might all have - how to connect with those we have loved and lost and how to allow ourselves to live and to love again. Beautifully written, sensitive and evocative, it paints a picture of an inner and outer world that is infused with both tragedy and hope. It moved me to tears and made me want to speak my own secret thoughts in the phone box at the edge of the world. Absolutely breathtaking and stunning.' - Christy Lefteri 

'A message of hope for anyone who is lost, frightened or grieving. Beautiful.' - Clare Mackintosh 

'Incredibly moving. It will break your heart and soothe your soul.' - Stacey Halls 

'Before I got started, I already loved the phone box at the edge of the world. But then I loved everything else. Especially the beautiful prose, powerful but held back, like grief. And the characters - emerging blinking from their tragedies, hurt and hesitant - but ultimately hopeful. It was a joy to read. Mesmerising!' - Joanna Glen, author of The Other Half of Augusta Hope 

You may also be interested in...

The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Weekend
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
S.
Added to basket
S.
£35.00
Hardback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Nicole @hemelwstones

“Subtle in her Strength, Lui's Story Touched Me Deeply.”

When I heard about the story this novel is based on I knew it would be special.
What I wasn't expecting, reading this in my first week of staying at home, was the sense of calm and lightness of being this book... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 30

“A tale of light and shade”

I started reading this just as lockdown came into play so reading it has been coloured somewhat by the changes and challenges we are facing in the world today. It's also why I have been slow to read it, lingering... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

“An Emotional Read”

You and Takeshi have lost ,loved ones. Yuki has lost her daughter, Takeshi has lost his wife. They meet on their journey to the phone box and a bond is firmly made between them. They are travelling to the wind phone,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.