Ts&Cs apply
The Pharmacist's Wife (Paperback)
  • The Pharmacist's Wife (Paperback)
zoom

The Pharmacist's Wife (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 04/04/2019
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A dark and thrilling tale of Victorian addiction, vengeance and self-discovery, perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist and Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent.
______________________

Love. Desire. Vengeance. A deadly alchemy.

Edinburgh, 1869:
Newly married, Rebecca longs for the life of a well-heeled gentlewoman. Her husband Alexander, a respected pharmacist, is eager to join pioneering fellow inventors in the history books. But beneath his ordered exterior, Rebecca is horrified to find a world of dark secrets. As she struggles with his infidelity and strange sexual desires, Alexander tries to pacify her so-called hysteria with his magical new wonder-drug, heroin...

As Rebecca's forced dependence takes her further from herself, Alexander's desire to profit from his creation leads him along a path that blurs science, passion and death. Soon, they both learn that addiction, obsession and vengeance make for a deadly alchemy...

'With shades of Sarah Waters, independence and vengeance make for a winning tale.' Stylist

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781786492739
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 279 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
With shades of Sarah Waters, independence and vengeance make for a winning tale. * Stylist *
This chilling atmospheric novel will appeal to fans of The Miniaturist and The Essex Serpent. * RED Online *
A fascinating, darkly powerful novel with biting attitude... Raw, elemental and disturbing, The Pharmacist's Wife is an entirely captivating, enthralling read - highly recommended. * LoveReading *
A truly addictive, deeply atmospheric, sensual yarn... similar to the works of Sarah Waters and Michel Faber, it makes for a compelling, irresistible, utterly delicious read. * Goodreads *
A captivating book.... It is a story that is both whimsical and disturbing. * Lady on The Looking Glass House *
Tait's engaging novel... is sensuous and lyrical * Sunday Telegraph on The Looking Glass House *
Moving and original. * Kate Saunders, The Times, on The Looking Glass House *

You may also be interested in...

Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Winter Crown
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Constant Princess
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Company of Liars
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Wolf Hall
Added to basket
£15.99
CD-Audio
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
Year of Wonders
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket

“Entertaining Victorian tale”

There was less depth than I expected to this enjoyable historical novel, despite the dark subject matter. Although a feeling of menace was established early on, as it became clear Rebecca had been chosen by her... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Victorian Skulldruggery”

My first instinct was to deride a comparison with Sarah Waters whose work I love but having completed the novel I totally understand the parallels. At times this book makes for uncomfortable reading but it covers a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Fantastic read”

The Pharmacist's Wife is a thoroughly enjoyable tale of the dark side of Victorian marriage.
Set in Edinburgh in the late 18th century, it tells of newlyweds, Rebecca and her pharmacist husband, Alexander... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.