The Pharmacist's Wife (Paperback)
  • The Pharmacist's Wife (Paperback)
zoom

The Pharmacist's Wife (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 05/04/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Love. Desire. Vengeance. A deadly alchemy.

When Rebecca Palmer's new husband opens a pharmacy in Victorian Edinburgh, she expects to live the life of a well-heeled gentlewoman. But her ideal turns to ashes when she discovers her husband is not what he seems. As Rebecca struggles to maintain her dignity in the face of his infidelity and strange sexual desires, Alexander tries to pacify her so-called hysteria with a magical new chemical creation. A wonder-drug he calls heroin.

Rebecca's journey into addiction takes her further into her past, and her first, lost love, while Alexander looks on, curiously observing his wife's descent. Meanwhile, Alexander's desire to profit from his invention leads him down a dangerous path that blurs science, passion, and death. He soon discovers that even the most promising experiments can have unforeseen and deadly consequences...

Reminiscent of the works of Sarah Waters, this is a brilliantly observed piece of Victoriana which deals with the disempowerment of women, addiction, desire, sexual obsession and vengeance.

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781786492715
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 210 x 150 x 30 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
With shades of Sarah Waters, independence and vengeance make for a winning tale. * Stylist *
This chilling atmospheric novel will appeal to fans of The Miniaturist and The Essex Serpent. * RED Online *
A fascinating, darkly powerful novel with biting attitude... Raw, elemental and disturbing, The Pharmacist's Wife is an entirely captivating, enthralling read - highly recommended. * LoveReading *
A truly addictive, deeply atmospheric, sensual yarn... similar to the works of Sarah Waters and Michel Faber, it makes for a compelling, irresistible, utterly delicious read. * Goodreads *
A captivating book.... It is a story that is both whimsical and disturbing. * Lady on The Looking Glass House *
Tait's engaging novel... is sensuous and lyrical * Sunday Telegraph on The Looking Glass House *
Moving and original. * Kate Saunders, The Times, on The Looking Glass House *

You may also be interested in...

The Doll Factory
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Fortune's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Shadow Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Yours Cheerfully
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Animals at Lockwood Manor
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Moon Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Mercies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bridgerton: The Duke and I (Bridgertons Book 1)
Added to basket
The Nightingale
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The River Between Us
Added to basket
The Other Bennet Sister
Added to basket
The Sun Sister
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Last Night at the Telegraph Club
Added to basket
The Mercies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Pearl Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Entertaining Victorian tale”

There was less depth than I expected to this enjoyable historical novel, despite the dark subject matter. Although a feeling of menace was established early on, as it became clear Rebecca had been chosen by her... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Victorian Skulldruggery”

My first instinct was to deride a comparison with Sarah Waters whose work I love but having completed the novel I totally understand the parallels. At times this book makes for uncomfortable reading but it covers a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Fantastic read”

The Pharmacist's Wife is a thoroughly enjoyable tale of the dark side of Victorian marriage.
Set in Edinburgh in the late 18th century, it tells of newlyweds, Rebecca and her pharmacist husband, Alexander... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.