• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Perks of Being a Wallflower YA edition (Paperback)
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower YA edition (Paperback)
zoom

The Perks of Being a Wallflower YA edition (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99 £6.49
Paperback 240 Pages / Published: 03/01/2013
  • Save £1.50
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A modern cult classic, a major motion picture and a timeless bestseller, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story.

Charlie is not the biggest geek in high school, but he's by no means popular.

Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie is attempting to navigate through the uncharted territory of high school. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music - when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive. Standing on the fringes of life Charlie has a unique perspective of the world around him, but there comes a time to stop being a wallflower and see what it looks like from the dance floor.

This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic. Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating and through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

'Chobsky captures adolescent angst, confusion and joy... Compelling.' Booklist
'This wistful, sensitive novel perfectly captures the uncertainty and excitement of adolescence, and has become a deserving modern classic.' Scottish Book Trust
'A coming-of-age tale in the tradition of THE CATCHER IN THE RYE and A SEPARATE PEACE... [Chbosky's] poignant reflections on life, love and friendship are often inspirational and always beautifully written.' USA Today

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471116148
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 172 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 15 mm

You may also be interested in...

Turtles All the Way Down
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Disney A Whole New World
Added to basket
Thirteen Reasons Why
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
It Only Happens in the Movies
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Every Day
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
INK
Added to basket
INK
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Names They Gave Us
Added to basket
The Hazel Wood
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
Disney Once Upon a Dream
Added to basket
The Disappearances
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons series)
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“Good Coming-Of-Age Read.”

It took me forever to finally get around to reading this book and I can honestly say I’m not sure where I stand on it. I think the hype that surrounds it had me expecting more than what I was given. That isn’t to say... More

Paperback edition
3rd February 2014
Helpful? Upvote 52

“A good book”

I read this book after hearing good reviews about the novel and the film. It was an interesting read, and the format of the narrative allowed the reader to try and gain an insight into Charlie's thought... More

Paperback edition
15th July 2014
Helpful? Upvote 51

“Amazing!”

This is an easily readable book, which keeps you interested right until the final line. Although possible, try not to read it in one sitting, as it has a longer lasting effect if you savour it. It is the sort of book... More

Paperback edition
23rd July 2012
Helpful? Upvote 43

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.