The Peripheral (Paperback)
  • The Peripheral (Paperback)
zoom

The Peripheral (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 496 Pages
Published: 23/04/2015
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The Peripheral by William Gibson is a thrilling new novel about two intertwined futures, from the bestselling author of Neuromancer

'Wild, richly satisfying . . . big-screen, popcorn-chewing thrills. What a glorious ride' Guardian

In the near future in a broken down rural America, Flynne Fisher scrapes a living as a gamer for rich players. One night, working a game set in a futuristic but puzzlingly empty London, she sees a death that's unnervingly vivid. Soon after she gets word that it isn't a game after all - the future she saw is all too real, she's the only witness to a murder and someone from that unreal tomorrow now wants her dead.

The story of a young woman caught between two worlds, The Peripheral interweaves two futures - pre-apocalypse USA and post-apocalypse London - to tell a story which gets right to heart of the way we live now.

'A tightly plotted, tautly paced novel that unfolds with the dream logic of a fairy tale' The Times Literary Supplement

'Frightening plausible. Not just a unique and brilliantly talented SF novelist but a social and psychological visionary. A wonderful addition to a brilliant oeuvre' The Times

'Superb . . . frantic with imagination' Ned Beauman, Observer

'Fast-moving, accessible, instantly gripping, so laden with cliffhangers you become afraid he'll run out of cliffs' SFX

According to the Guardian, in terms of influence Gibson is 'probably the most important novelist of the past two decades'. The Peripheral, which marks a return to the futurism of Neuromancer, will be adored by Gibson readers and will also appeal to fans of Ender's Game, Looper and Source Code.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241961001
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 341 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Superb . . . frantic with imagination and frantic with the appetite to see what happens next - Ned Beauman, Observer

What a glorious ride! Like the woman said: brain 'splode - Sam Leith, Guardian

You may also be interested in...

A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Funny Story
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: