The People on Platform 5 (Hardback)
  • The People on Platform 5 (Hardback)
zoom

The People on Platform 5 (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 400 Pages
Published: 26/05/2022

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket

From the bestselling author of The Authenticity Project comes a brand-new uplifting and feel-good novel that everyone is falling in love with...

Nobody speaks to strangers on the train. But what would happen if they did?

Every day at 8:05, Iona Iverson boards the train to go to work. Every day, she sees the same people and makes assumptions about them, even giving them nicknames. But they never speak. Obviously.

Then, one morning, Smart-but-Sexist-Surbiton chokes on a grape right in front of Iona. Suspiciously-Nice-New Malden steps up to help and saves his life, and this one event sparks a chain reaction.

With nothing in common but their commute, an eclectic group of people learn that their assumptions about each other don't match reality. But when Iona's life begins to fall apart, will her new friends be there when she needs them most?

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9781787631809
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 514 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Utterly gorgeous. A proper good pick-me-up of a book - Ruth Jones

Another totally original, thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying book from Clare Pooley. Full of original characters and wisdom, I absolutely loved it - Katie Fforde

A glorious triumph of a novel; warm, funny and moving, with an unforgettable cast of characters - Rosie Walsh

Insightful, funny and full of warmth and relatable characters. A brilliant read - Sarah Morgan

A gloriously entertaining and completely addictive read. The People on Platform 5 will be sure to steal your heart. Clare Pooley's writing is astute, wickedly funny, clever and charming. I adore this book - Hazel Prior

This book tackles so many interesting themes, all with Clare's trademark humour, wonderful writing, and vibrant, loveable characters - Feel-good fiction at its best. It almost made me miss the commute - Sophie Cousens, author of This Time Next Year

A joyous and uplifting story about unexpected friendships, and the chance connections that can change our lives - Debbie Johnson

An uplifting and heart-warming book that champions friendship and community - Libby Page

I loved meeting the people on platform 5 - a delightful story about connection and friendship in a disconnected world - Marianne Cronin, author of The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

A 1st class journey. Just wonderful - Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy

A magnificent, heart-warming novel celebrating the power of human connection - it's an absolute joy - Freya Sampson, author of The Last Library

Uplifting, joyful & funny, yet also poignant, perceptive & clever - Tracy Rees

This utterly joyful novel takes you on an unforgettable journey with characters you wish you could meet in real life... I loved The People on Platform 5 even more than The Authenticity Project - it's glorious - Eva Carter

This book is bursting with the kindness of strangers, and I was bursting with hope by the end of it - Jenny Bayliss

Clare Pooley is the queen of feel-good fiction. She takes relatable situations and characters and somehow makes them magical. The People of Platform 5 is funny, tender and true-to-life while also being thought-provoking. It was magnificent and a joy to read - Phaedra Patrick

The People on Platform 5 is nothing short of sheer and utter delight. It presents the best of humanity - the sweet and bashful kindness and generosity that lives in all of us. I can't think of a more joyful book! - Jesse Q. Sutanto, bestselling author of Dial A For Aunties

Heartwarming, funny, a delicious dive into the profound and ridiculous modern world in which we live. Clare Pooley reminds us why we need each other - Tara Conklin, New York Times bestselling author

Pooley delivers not only acerbic, enchanting Iona but a compelling, tangled cast of quirky, complicated characters so engaging, it's enough to make you miss crowded commuter trains - Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author

This feel-good ensemble story will bring joy to readers who loved Anxious People and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine-not to mention fans of quirky London-set fare such as Ted Lasso...a warm, fun pick-me-up of a book - Mary Laura Philpott

Clare Pooley has found a delightful way to bring home the point that we need each other - Kelly Corrigan, New York Times bestselling author

Leaving you with that fuzzy feeling you want from a feel-good book - Woman & Home

Entertaining and uplifting - Good Housekeeping

Filled with delightful characters... this heart-warming book explores relationships and the dilemmas of everyday life - Candis

Tackling many relevant issues, it's a heart-warming read - Heat

Poignant, totally joyful, this is a great read - Fabulous

A feel-good read, with great characters to care about, it takes current issues seriously but adds plenty of humour - Choice

[It leaves] the reader with that fuzzy feeling you want from a feel-good book. Fans of her previous hit, The Authenticity Project, will not be disappointed - Woman's Weekly

A feel-good tale about the power of real-life connections - Sun

You can always rely on Pooley to deliver not just wonderful, lively characters but a story that leaves you feeling uplifted and hopeful - CultureFly

You may also be interested in...

The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Intermezzo
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Prepare to meet your next favourite character”

Who knew that the lives of six people could be upturned and changed by a single grape? Well, Clare Pooley, that’s who. The People on Platform Five is an absolute gift of a novel which explores what can happen if we... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“I loved this book so much!”

Sometimes it’s really hard to say goodbye to characters at the end of a book. This is one of those books. The characters are unique and yet identifiable. We all know someone like Iona in our lives. It was the most... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Loved it! Great Read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this review copy. Having previously read and loved The Authenticity Project I was keen to read this next book.
The People on Platform 5 is a great read. Loved all the characters, the... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: