The Patient (Paperback)
  • The Patient (Paperback)
zoom

The Patient (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 28/04/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

She is his doctor. He will be her downfall.

The bestselling phenomenon returns…

‘Beautifully paced’ CARA HUNTER

‘Beautifully written with an achingly real romance at its heart’ SARAH HILARY

‘A masterclass in upmarket thriller writing’ CHARLOTTE PHILBY

‘I raced through it!’ EMMA CURTIS

When Rachel, a GP in Salisbury, meets Luc, the attraction between them is instant. But Rachel is married with a daughter – and Luc isn’t well.

Despite themselves, a heady love affair begins – one that threatens to risk everything Rachel has worked for. And when someone in the town is found dead, the spotlight turns to Luc. Torn between her career, her marriage and her heart, Rachel finds herself in the middle of something much darker than she could have imagined…

A beautifully written domestic suspense story from the master of the what-if novel.

PRAISE FOR THE PATIENT:

‘This elegant, multi-layered story has taken my breath away. Much more than a murder mystery, it explores mental health, middle age, marriage and love, while luring you to the edge of your seat’ JANICE HALLETT

‘A powerful obsession turns dark in this gripping tale of desire, betrayal and murder’ T.M. LOGAN

‘Constantly surprising’ THE SUNDAY TIMES

‘With plenty of tension and shocking moments, this atmospheric story is perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Doctor Foster’ CANDIS MAGAZINE

'A breath-taking dissection of a marriage' Woman & Home

‘A compelling sense of place, good twists, and a tense, intense ending’ Sarah Vaughan, bestselling author of Anatomy of a Scandal

‘We absolutely loved this . . . It's difficult to believe that this accomplished book is a debut’ Richard & Judy Book Club

‘Utterly gripping. A tautly-coiled spring of suspicion and suspense which builds to a devastating ending’ Mail on Sunday

‘Gave me goosebumps’ Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes

‘Jane Shemilt has a talent for taking you into her world – but be careful. It might not be what you think…’ Jane Corry, Sunday Times bestselling author of I Made A Mistake

‘Beautifully written and suffused with dread. A compelling literary thriller’ Gilly Macmillan, bestselling author of The Nanny

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008475918
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 230 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

PRAISE FOR THE PATIENT: ‘Constantly surprising’ The Sunday Times ‘A twisty- and sexy- tale’ Heat ‘Plenty of tension and atmospheric moments’ Candis ‘A gripping exploration of power, relationships and revenge’ My Weekly ‘Tingling…Beautifully written and paced’ CARA HUNTER ‘A powerful obsession turns dark in this gripping tale of desire, betrayal and murder’ T.M. LOGAN 'Engaging and masterful with a taut plot and intriguing characters.' ALEX DHAL ‘With plenty of tension and shocking moments, this atmospheric story is perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Doctor Foster.’ CANDIS MAGAZINE ’A beautifully written thriller with satisfying twists and an achingly real romance at its heart’ SARAH HILARY ‘A multi-layered thriller. I raced through it!’ EMMA CURTIS ‘A spellbinding, twisty tale of love and lies – utterly absorbing. The Patient drew me in and kept me rapt until the very last word.’ MARION TODD ‘A beautifully written, suspenseful portrait of a settled life fracturing violently’ GILLY MACMILLAN ‘The Patient is magnificent: a masterclass in upmarket thriller-writing’ CHARLOTTE PHILBY ‘Twisty and perfectly paced’ VICTORIA SELMAN ‘A compulsive, dark thriller that simmers with tension’ LUCY CLARKE ‘Beautifully written, The Patient is both a psychological thriller and a redemptive love story with twists galore’ SARAH VAUGHAN

You may also be interested in...

The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The World of Hercule Poirot
Added to basket
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“A solid read”

A dark domestic thriller.
Rachel is a GP , who begins a passionate affair with a one time patient Luc. This in turn leads to devastating consequences for them both .
The story is a slow burn and includes a few... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Good Crime Read”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, I am a fan of Jane's crime novels so it was certainly a treat to read this early.
The doctor / patient relationship and the wife / husband relationship are... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A must read”

The only regret I have about this book is that it took me so long to pick up. It’s been sitting on my shelf for a good year now thanks to @netgalley and quite honestly it deserved more than that. I had a tear in my... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: