Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Paris Seamstress (Paperback)
  • The Paris Seamstress (Paperback)
zoom

The Paris Seamstress (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 04/10/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

**THE FRENCH PHOTOGRAPHER is now available to pre-order in ebook**

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

'Fascinating and impeccably researched' GILL PAUL
'A fantastically engrossing story. I love it' KELLY RIMMER

'A beautiful story in every way' THE LADY
'Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book' RACHEL BURTON
One of the MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF THE YEAR - Publishers Weekly

Crossing generations, society's boundaries and international turmoil, The Paris Seamstress is a beguiling, transporting story perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kate Furnivall and Penny Vincenzi.
********************************************

What must Estella sacrifice to make her mark?

1940: Parisian seamstress Estella Bissette is forced to flee France as the Germans advance. She is bound for Manhattan with a few francs, one suitcase, her sewing machine and a dream: to have her own atelier.

2015: Australian curator Fabienne Bissette journeys to the annual Met Gala for an exhibition of her beloved grandmother's work - one of the world's leading designers of ready-to-wear. But as Fabienne learns more about her grandmother's past, she uncovers a story of tragedy, heartbreak and secrets - and the sacrifices made for love.


MORE PRAISE FOR NATASHA LESTER...

'If you enjoy historical fiction (and even if you don't) you will love this book' Sally Hepworth
'A gorgeously rich and romantic novel' Kate Forsyth
'Stunning . . . Will have you captivated' Liz Byrski
'This romance will have you enchanted' Woman's Day
'Natasha Lester is our generation's Louisa May Alcott' Tess Woods
'What a GEM!' Sara Foster
'Natasha Lester brings bold, brave women to life' Courier Mail
'I love this book' Rachael Johns
'Exquisite!' Vanessa Carnevale
'Engaging' Herald Sun
'An essential addition to Australian fiction' AusRomToday
'Utterly compelling' Good Reading
'Emotion that will touch your heart and soul deeply' Jodi Gibson
'Fascinating, evocative and meticulously researched' Annabel Abbs
'Entertaining and provocative' Perth Festival
'Lester has woven a fine, original story of everlasting quality.' BetterReading
'A captivating tale' Daily Examiner
'A delightful and multi-faceted romp through the jazz era' Natalie Salvo
'Excellent historical fiction' The Book Muse
'You will love this even if you're not a regular reader of historical fiction' Jess Just Reads
'Storytelling at its finest' Great Reads & Tea Leaves

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751573077
Number of pages: 448
Dimensions: 201 x 181 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A fascinating and impeccably researched evocation of the New York fashion world during World War Two... and some divine-sounding dresses! -- Gill Paul
A fantastically engrossing story. I loved it. -- Kelly Rimmer
Intrigue, heartbreak and, ultimately not one, but two heart stopping love stories. I cannot tell you how much I loved this book and I cannot recommend it enough. -- Rachel Burton * author of The Things We Need To Say *
A gorgeously rich and romantic novel about young women finding their way in the world. -- Kate Forsyth * bestselling author of Bitter Greens *
If you're looking for a swoon-worthy romance, then The Paris Seamstress is for you . . . fans of historical romance will eat this one up. * Refinery29 *
This rich, memorable novel unfolds beautifully from start to finish. * Publishers Weekly *
A beautiful story in every way. * The Lady *
A family drama set against a background of international conflict... The glamorous backdrop of the fashion industry provides a rich, colourful setting for much of the action and contrasts starkly with Paris in wartime, where this dramatic story begins. * People's Friend ***** *
Whisks you to a dreamy other place * Yours *
Many novels have brought me to tears, as did this. But The Paris Seamstress was different. It is such a deep and profound emotion that Lester evokes within as you read the last few chapters. Emotion that will touch your heart and soul deeply, leaving you having to almost catch your breath. -- Jodi Gibson
[Natasha Lester] deftly weaves real characters, events, places and a love of fashion into her captivating tale. * Herald Sun *
Fascinating, evocative and meticulously researched. -- Annabel Abbs * author of Frieda *
Crossing generations, societal boundaries and international turmoil, The Paris Seamstress is Lester at her most entertaining and provocative. * Perth Festival *
It's the emotional power in her writing that makes everything seem real, the love, the courage, the drama, the friendships and the romances. Like a wonderful piece of French haute couture, Lester has woven a fine, original story of everlasting quality. * BetterReading *
Crossing generations, society's boundaries and international turmoil, The Paris Seamstress is the beguiling, transporting story of the special relationship between a grandmother and her granddaughter as they attempt to heal the heartache of the past. * femail (online) *
Estella is a brilliant designer, with chutzpah, verve and spirit. The novel hums with her energy. * The Weekly Times *
Natasha Lester brings bold, brave women to life * Courier Mail *
A captivating tale. * Daily Examiner *
Excellent historical fiction. -- The Book Muse
You will love this even if you're not a regular reader of historical fiction... [The Paris Seamstress] is about two women who are following their dreams, just trying to make their way in the world. -- Jess Just Reads
Do yourself a favour, escape to Paris with Estella... storytelling at its finest. I simply cannot wait to see what Natasha will come up with next. -- Great Reads & Tea Leaves
I loved the characters, I loved the tension and the heart ache, the unveiling of the secrets bit by bit, and the twists and turns that I didn't see coming. -- Theresa Smith Writes
A tale of fashion and the building of empires, of war and its ravages, of love and lunacy and strength and resilience, and friendship that lasts a lifetime. -- Beauty and Lace
A deeply emotional book that is heartbreaking, while being filled with courage and love -- Reading Writing and Riesling
Fierce and passionate with strong men and, most importantly, strong and independent women. -- Seeing the Lighter Side
The Paris Seamstress is the first book of Natasha Lester's that I've had the pleasure of reading, and it definitely won't be the last. This book was beautifully written and the characters have such rich history! -- The Girly Book Club
When I read the description of [The Paris Seamstress], immediately I thought of Kate Morton's books and I wasn't disappointed. -- The Fancy Nerds

You may also be interested in...

The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Other Queen
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The King's Curse
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“3 1/2 STARS”

Three and a half stars from me, losing half a star because I didn't believe in the extreme love affairs (keeping a vague comment so as not to have any spoilers). I found the fashion and all that it entailed very... More

Paperback edition
10th October 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0
GraceJReviewerlady.net

“A Packed Read, Superbly Executed!”

You're in for a real treat with this novel - it's outstanding!

Estella Bissette lives in Paris with her maman, Jeanne, and they work together in an atelier producing stunning couture for well-off ladies. In... More

Paperback edition
4th October 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.