The Paris Bookseller (Hardback)
  • The Paris Bookseller (Hardback)
zoom

The Paris Bookseller (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 11/01/2022

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

INSPIRED BY THE WOMAN WHO FOUNDED SHAKESPEARE AND COMPANY

'A vivid evocation of the famous female-owned Parisian bookshop... Kerri Maher writes a love letter to books, bookstores and booklovers everywhere' Kate Quinn, author of The Alice Network

'I was completely enthralled' Natasha Lester, author of The Paris Secret

The captivating story of a trailblazing young woman who fought against incredible odds to bring one of the most important books of the twentieth century to the world. For readers of The Paris Library and The Paris Wife.

PARIS, 1919.

Young, bookish Sylvia Beach knows there is no greater city in the world than Paris. But when she opens an English-language bookshop on the bohemian Left Bank, Sylvia can't yet know she is making history.

Many leading writers of the day, from Ernest Hemingway to Gertrude Stein, consider Shakespeare and Company a second home. Here some of the most profound literary friendships blossom - and none more so than between James Joyce and Sylvia herself.

When Joyce's controversial novel Ulysses is banned, Sylvia determines to publish it through Shakespeare and Company. But the success and notoriety of publishing the most infamous book of the century comes at deep personal cost as Sylvia risks ruin, reputation and her heart in the name of the life-changing power of books...

---

'An intriguing story, beguilingly told' Mail on Sunday

'Absorbing and beautifully written... The Paris Bookseller transports you to 1920s Paris - and keeps you utterly captivated with its vivid cast of characters and their bohemian lifestyles' Heat

'A compelling coming-of-age tale, in addition to an impressive piece of historical fiction' Culturefly

'A book for the bookshop lovers . . . an absorbing novel about the life changing nature of our favourite reads' Belfast Telegraph

'A compelling and fascinating look at the world-changing mavericks who bonded, bickered and triumphed in the realm of literature' Nuala O'Connor

'A compelling portrait of a remarkable woman, who steps from the pages in all her charm, courage and vulnerability' Gill Paul

'Intelligent, fierce and filled with reverence for a fascinating epoch in literary history... a delight for readers and writers' Whitney Scharer, author of The Age of Light

'Lulls you into an interwar Parisian dream where love - be it romantic, friendly or even for a book - can be found on a quirky little street in the 6th' Kaia Alderson, author of Sisters in Arms

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472290762
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 520 g
Dimensions: 238 x 216 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An intriguing story, beguilingly told - Mail on Sunday

Absorbing and beautifully written... The Paris Bookseller transports you to 1920s Paris - and keeps you utterly captivated with its vivid cast of characters and their bohemian lifestyles - Heat

A compelling coming-of-age tale, in addition to an impressive piece of historical fiction - Culturefly

A book for the bookshop lovers . . . an absorbing novel about the life-changing nature of our favourite reads - Belfast Telegraph

The enchanting tale of Sylvia Beach is told with a beautiful lightness by Kerri Maher in the book for book lovers that is The Paris Bookseller - Buzz Mag

You may also be interested in...

Enigma
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
An Instance of the Fingerpost
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Spring Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Fatherland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Captain Corelli's Mandolin
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
miss.mesmerized

“Kerri Maher - The Paris Bookseller”

Young Sylvia Beach has always dreamt of writing books, but soon she must recognise that writing isn't hers. When in Paris, the American meets Susanne and Adrienne who run a bookshop and she is immediately... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Books, literature and literati with a loving dose of romance”

I was keen to read this book – not because I am a James Joyce fan (I have never read ‘Ulysses’, and I doubt I ever will) – but because I was fascinated by the idea of a single American woman opening up an English... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Glorious Characters and Romantic Bookshops”

I actually chose this book based on the title to read on my French travels, what I didn’t realise was that it’s based on a true story of an American in Paris who changed the story of literature in the 1920s.

Sylvia... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: