The Paper Bracelet (Paperback)
  • The Paper Bracelet (Paperback)
zoom

The Paper Bracelet (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 09/07/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Every paper bracelet held a mother's heartbreaking secret...

The top ten bestseller, inspired by heartrending true events in a home for unwed mothers, set in Ireland, Boston and London, this novel is perfect for readers of Kathryn Hughes, Emily Gunnis and Susan Lewis.

'Utterly moving and compelling. That first line...wow! I was hooked' Patricia Scanlan

'Fantastic storytelling looking back at Ireland's dark past' Liz Nugent

'A powerful, important, beautiful book' Sinead Crowley

'A true storyteller who keeps you turning the pages' Cathy Kelly

'A compelling read' Sheila O'Flanagan

For almost fifty years, Katie Carroll has kept a box tucked away inside her wardrobe. It dates from her time working as a nurse in a west of Ireland home for unwed mothers in the 1970s. The box contains a notebook holding the details of the babies and young women she met there. It also holds many of the babies' identity bracelets.

Following the death of her husband, Katie makes a decision. The information she possesses could help reunite adopted people with their birth mothers, and she decides to post a message on an internet forum. Soon the replies are rolling in, and Katie finds herself returning many of the bracelets to their original owners. She encounters success and failure, heartbreak and joy. But is she prepared for old secrets to be uncovered in her own life?

Thousands of readers worldwide have lost their hearts to THE PAPER BRACELET:

'Outstanding. I was on the edge of my seat *****'

'It broke my heart. Rachael has managed to tell a truly heartbreaking story beautifully and with real grace and dignity *****'

'Beautifully written and enjoyable *****'

'I loved this book. Despite the subject matter this book is very uplifting *****'

'A beautifully written story, uncovering some untold truths *****'

'An addictive read *****'

'Could not put it down. Highly recommend *****'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472264664
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 340 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 44 mm

You may also be interested in...

Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
No One Is Talking About This
Added to basket
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Great Circle
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Fortune Men
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“It's engrossing and moving, a good read that I recommend”

A lovely and well written story, heart-wrenching and poignant.
i liked the storytelling, the realistic and interesting characters and the well crafted plot.
It's engrossing and moving, a good read that I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Beautiful”

An absolutely beautiful yet heart wrenching read at the same time, this was beautifully written, the characters well developed and so lovely. This will stay with you long after you turn the last page,despite... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“A great read, with a really satisfying ending.”

I really enjoyed this story about a nurse, Katie, who used to work in a mother and baby home in Ireland in the 1960s, when the single pregnant mothers were hidden away in shame to have their baby, and the babies were... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.