The Palace of Curiosities (Paperback)
  • The Palace of Curiosities (Paperback)
zoom

The Palace of Curiosities (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 26/09/2013
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A luminous and bewitching debut novel that is perfect for fans of Angela Carter. Set in Victorian London, it follows the fortunes of Eve, the Lion-Faced Girl and Abel, the Flayed Man. A magical realism delight.

Before Eve is born, her mother goes to the circus. She buys a penny twist of coloured sugar and settles down to watch the heart-stopping main attraction: a lion, billed as a monster from the savage heart of Africa, forged in the heat of a merciless sun. Mama swears she hears the lion sigh, just before it leaps...and when Eve is born, the story goes, she didn't cry - she meowed and licked her paws.

When Abel is pulled from the stinking Thames, the mudlarks are sure he is long dead. As they search his pockets to divvy up the treasure, his eyes crack open and he coughs up a stream of black water. But how has he survived a week in that thick stew of human waste?

Cast out by Victorian society, Eve and Abel find succour from an unlikely source. They will become The Lion Faced Girl and The Flayed Man, star performers in Professor Josiah Arroner's Palace of Curiosities. And there begins a journey that will entwine their fates forever.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007492787
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 230 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

`Garland's lush prose is always a pleasure' GUARDIAN

`An alternately brutal and beautiful story about love and belonging in a vividly conveyed underworld, rich in carny phantasmagoria and lyrical romance' METRO

`Bewitching' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

`A jewel-box of a novel ... Garland is a real literary talent: definitely an author to watch' Sarah Waters

`Reminds me of Angela Carter' Jenni Murray

You may also be interested in...

Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sepulchre
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Kingmaker: Winter Pilgrims
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket

“Beautiful prose with a hint of gothic horror”

The Palace of Curiosities is an incredibly engaging read which will have you gripped from the first few pages. The prose is beautifully written with more than a hint of gothic horror. The main characters Eve and Abel... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 56

“Great read”

This tale of two curiosities is well written in a unique style. Give the book a chance as it may take a while to get into but once you are it will be well worth it.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 35

“A uniquely wonderful tale!”

This is the story of Eve, the Lion Faced Girl & Abel, the Flayed Man. They are both Victorian social outcasts who become performers in a freak show, know an the Palace of Curiosities. The story sounds like pure... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.