The Outcasts of Time (Paperback)
  • The Outcasts of Time (Paperback)
zoom

The Outcasts of Time (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 09/08/2018
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
`Beautifully written and superbly executed' Times
'This clever and moving Faustian tale is packed with fascinating historical detail' Express


From the author of the bestselling The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain, this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.

John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.

As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?

What readers are saying:

`Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection' Sara Marsden

`The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read' Ophelia's Reads

'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ... The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ... it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471146589
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 24 mm

You may also be interested in...

Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
Wars of the Roses: Trinity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Page turning time travel story....”

What a novel construct for a story ! 1348 and the Black Death grips the country. Brothers John and William are offered relief and salvation for six days if they will agree to do good deeds and save their souls in the... More

Hardback edition
2nd May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 68

“A spellbinding tour de force, rich in historical detail”

This reader is accustomed to travelling through time with the wonderful Ian Mortimer. His acclaimed Time Traveller's Guides provide vivid windows on the past which are at once entertaining, sobering and endlessly... More

Hardback edition
10th March 2017
Helpful? Upvote 24

“Time Travel through six centuries ”

A brilliant novel about time travel. But not the usual book found under the Science Fiction category. It is one that might best be categorized under social commentary similarly to "Gulliver's... More

Hardback edition
19th November 2017
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.