The Other Side of the World (Paperback)
  • The Other Side of the World (Paperback)
zoom

The Other Side of the World (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 30/06/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A tender and gorgeously written novel of a marriage in crisis in the tradition of Revolutionary Road, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD by Stephanie Bishop was an Australian bestseller, and winner of the ABIA Award for Literary Fiction Book of the Year and the 2015 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction. It has gone on to garner international literary acclaim.

'A stunning writer... her attention to detail makes each scene visceral' New York Times

'As a portrait of a marriage and motherhood, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD was the most outstanding novel of the year for me. It's beautifully written, profound and deeply moving' Hannah Beckerman, Express Books of the Year

Cambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you'.

Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472230621
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 230 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An insightful, exquisitely observed novel... deserves to make many a book prize shortlist * Observer *
Unflinching but tender... a moving story of marriage, home and self-discovery * Stylist *
Stephanie Bishop's second novel is a stunning work of Australian fiction about marriage and family, homesickness and nostalgia. Bishop's elegant and beautiful prose stayed with me long after finishing the final page and I found myself returning to reread passages. The Other Side of the World is definitely a standout, must-read novel of 2015. * Guardian.com *
A spellbinding and beautifully written debut by Stephanie Bishop, about a woman struggling with life as a new mother after she's uprooted by her husband to Australia * Good Housekeeping *
Her descriptions pulse with feeling... A tender portrayal of the power of memory, the pull of place and the fragility of family relationships, this is thoroughly enjoyable * Lady *
There are moments in this novel that are so beautifully and painfully evoked... I thought about it for days afterwards -- Carys Bray, author of A Song for Issy Bradley
Intelligent and poignant * Glamour *
This powerful, insightful novel has an evocation of motherhood any parent will recognise * Sunday Express *
Bishop writes with great sympathy about two individuals whose sense of themselves has come adrift, and her atmospheric scenes are painted with an arrestingly vivid palette * Daily Mail *
The novel thrums with an elegiac hum and is soft with the shifting light and worn textures of memories... magnificent...the precision and flair of the writing is breathtaking * The Australian *
Atmospheric - the contrast between the two cultures and climates is very well done -- Cathy Rentzenbrink * Bookseller (Editor's Pick) *
A beautifully written novel... There are shades of Anne Tyler and Raymond Carver - names not to be thrown around lightly * Big Issue *
Perceptive, wise and exquisitely written, this novel had me turning the pages with heart-stopping urgency. I could not have loved it more -- Hannah Beckerman, Author of The Dead Wife's Handbook
Utterly heartrending...a subtle and moving book * Optima Magazine *
a painfully intimate portrait of a marriage in crisis and of a woman on the verge of losing herself... a read-in-one-sitting kind of book, and perfect for book clubs. You'll be debating this one for hours! * New Books Magazine *
A breathy, sensual conjuring up of two countries, two people steeped in their own sense of nostalgia, beating with a page-turning pulse * Sainsbury's Magazine *
Her ability to describe landscapes and places is quite stunning... A slow-moving, gently unfurling story that is sure to be a huge success for Stephanie Bishop ... oh, and that ending... -- Random Things Through My Letterbox
A beautiful story about parenthood, marriage and a young mother's bewilderment by change, responsibility and duty * Candis *
A beautifully written book... I delighted in the poetic style of Stephanie Bishop's writing and loved the evocative images of the Australian and English (and Indian) landscapes. She captures the intensity of the heat in the southern hemisphere and contrasts this with the melancholic dimness of an English winter * The Bookbag *
One of the most beautiful stories I have read in a long time. Against an epic backdrop lies a deeply personal story of home and identity, and I fell in love from the very first page. Surely a classic in the making. -- Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP
The dramatic ending will certainly stay with me for a long time * Irish News *
A powerful description of a marriage in crisis * Mirror *
Clear, strong prose and a story shaped by intelligence of steel -- Sarah Moss, author of NIGHTWAKING and BODIES OF LIGHT
Tenderly written... the dramatic ending will stay with me for a long while * Irish Examiner *
As a portrait of a marriage and motherhood, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD was the most outstanding novel of the year for me. It's beautifully written, profound and deeply moving. * Express *

You may also be interested in...

Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
Now We Shall Be Entirely Free
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Love is Blind
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Still Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

“The OtherSide OfThe World”

The novel covers the life changing experience of first time parenthood and the change in identity that goes along with it.
Charlotte's struggle to come terms with her role is compacted by their move to Australia... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 18

“Heartfelt Emotion & Beautifully Written Scenes”

I completely adored this beautifully written story. It was utterly spellbinding and I just revelled the delicious descriptive writing that just seemed to transport me to those places described on the pages. This is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

“A story that will stay with you long after you have finished, outstanding prose. Full of emotion but a beautiful book”

The advance reviews for The Other Side of the World have been outstanding, so I was pleased to have been asked to write a review.
This is not a fast paced novel, by Stephanie Bishop, it is a book that moves along at... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.